Sketchy Doings 2 : Cinderella Man

in #art6 years ago (edited)

crowd5.jpeg
As a follow up to my previous post featuring sketches from my life and their related stories, I thought I would share with you some more sketches and stories, from my time working as a movie extra, on the set of Cinderella Man in Toronto during the summer of 2004.waiting.jpg

As mentioned before, most of the shoot took place in the location of Maple Leaf Gardens as a stand in for Madison Square Gardens. There were several hundred people, all dressed up in period garb. Processing each morning took the better part of an hour, and then we would stay in a holding area to wait to be called out to the set. It got pretty hot in that area, what with the crowds and collective body heat. Added to that the heavy woollen clothing we all had to wear, and I found myself reflecting on the culture of the past, with it's focus on enduring discomfort for the sake of maintaining decorum. The production people placed giant fans in the area, but it was quite an itchy scratchy situation all around.


Once we were out on the set, everybody got into character, with the men tipping their hats to the ladies and so forth. It was nice to see folks acting so classy. Of course as the shoot went on and the heat started to get to everyone that behaviour began to fray somewhat, but it was good while it lasted…

Here are a few of the Production assistants AKA crowd wranglers. Once on the set we would be herded into various positions around the ring and back in the crowd - one interesting aspect of this was the "doll crew". They would place these dolls throughout the crowd, further back from the camera's main depth of field. The dolls were basically stuffed cloth torsos with arms and pillows for heads, dressed up in jackets and hats, with the final touch of these creepily realistic face masks attached to their heads. I wish I had thought to sketch one of those things but they kind of freaked me out.

Those of us back in the audience would be placed in between the dolls intermittently and encouraged to jump and wave our arms, creating movement to fill out the crowd. And so, in between shots, a lot of the extras started to "bond" with the dolls - posing with the dolls to take pictures with their phones, arm around shoulders, lifting up their hats… After a while the leader of the crew, whom everybody called the "doll man", got on the microphone and asked everyone to stop playing with the dolls because it ruined continuity and his crew couldn't keep up with fixing the disruptions.


There was another thing certain individuals did with the dolls… As I mentioned, these dolls were simply torsos; nothing from the waist down. And so these guys would place the dolls in their laps and mimic copulation while their friends looked on laughed. Eventually the doll man had to get on the mic and ask everyone to please stop humping his dolls.

russelUPLOAD.jpg
Here are a few pictures of Russell Crowe. One day I was up in the bleachers and sketching him between shots. He seemed to notice me, and went over to a P.A. and mentioned something in his ear, and they both discretely glanced up in my direction. So I just kept drawing away, and a few minutes later I noticed over my shoulder another P.A. standing in the aisle behind me. By then I'd switched to sketching people in the crowd, and when I looked back at the ring, Crowe was leaning forward on the ropes, staring directly up at me.

I raised up my sketchbook - a little 4x3" notebook - towards the P.A. so that he could see that I was drawing pictures. The P.A. took a look, then turned to Crowe, miming a sketching motion with his hand, and mouthed something like "he's drawing". I turned the notebook back to Crowe so that he could see that it was a drawing, and he nodded his head and went back to his business.

That night when I got home, I went on the internet and found out the reason for his concern. You will notice that in one of those drawings, Crowe is smoking a cigarette while wearing his gloves.

The news story I saw that night was about how Crowe needed an assistant to put a cigarette in his mouth and light it for him, due to the time it takes to lace up a pair of boxing gloves. This was treated as an example of an elitist movie star making his own rules.

Somebody in that crowd was taking notes of some kind, either on paper or in their heads, and sold the information to a news org. But it wasn't me, and so my sketch was no part of the story, which suited me just fine.

angeloUPLOAD.jpg
There was something like three different fights shot there, and so I found myself sometimes placed back in the crowd and sometimes closer to the ring. Here are some of the people near the ring, including Angelo Dundee, real life boxing trainer legend, who was in Crowes' (Braddock's) corner. Also shown is Art Binkowski, who played Corn Griffin - he is a real boxer who grew up in Mississauga. There were also a few local Canadian actors placed around the ring, playing different roles.

There were guys playing old school cameramen in the crowd. I asked this gentleman if his camera shot real film, because I thought that would be a really interesting promo idea. But no film, just acting. And he was pretty convincing. There was a lot of stylish accoutrements around the place, little touches… I often would find myself feeling transported back in time, until someone would say "yo" or something.

While wandering near the ring I was checking out some of the period equipment, microphones and radios and typewriters, but if I stayed too long I was shooed away by somebody, so no chance to get a decent sketch. When near the typewriter I checked the paper and saw that someone had written some kind of anti Bush screed on it, with all sorts of colourful descriptions, let's just say…

All in all it was a most interesting experience. We also did an outdoor shoot for the shanty town scenes, but I didn't bring my sketchbook for that, which was dumb because it was an all nighter. Also the shanties were very picturesque and would have made great drawings. Then again, it wouldn't have been long before the light was no good.


crowdUPLOAD.jpg
One notable event back at the Gardens was when Russell Crowe led the crowd in singing "Oh Canada", the Canadian National Anthem. Now a lot of people bitched about him making us wait while he played basketball or something, or about his temper on the set, but to me this was a solid move on his part. We were the last people to sing our National Anthem in Maple Leaf Gardens, and politics aside, that to me is a little bit of history and I was glad to have been there for it.

Sort:  

You should draw/sketch more often. I notice you blog old works mostly. I love the antiquity, even of the stories. But I die to see more recent drawings ;-)

I still sketch but it's mostly to storyboard my animation, or for graphic art stuff - I'll be posting some sketch / finished work combos soon. It's been awhile since I did any sketching from real life.


Here is a fairly recent one from 2015; she's a cellist who plays at the farmer's market I go to every week. Her name is Lorna Heidt and you can view her Facebook page here...

Awesome, as always. I am following you. Nice to have an eye on your blog ;-) Feel free to check out my boring stories. Hahahaha. I haven't written as much lately, but I hope to revisit that part of me soon. Nice to meet you.

Akpan,
Nigeria

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Fantastic Work. Uprooted and Resteemed. Followed .... Welcome fellow Canuck.

Thanks very much. Good work on your profile as well.

Sounds like quite the experience! Are you an actor yourself? Or was this a one-time thing?

I guess someone lighting his cigarette could be easily misinterpreted. Interesting to hear the real reason behind it. I respect him for singing the Canadian national anthem.

It was a brief thing - I figured with all the time between shots I could work on my art. Certainly not an actor.

RE: the cigarette deal; a few years ago I saw a picture of Ryan Reynolds on the set of Deadpool, with an assistant holding an umbrella over his head. Why? Are his Deadpool fingered gloves so crappy that holding an umbrella will wreck their continuity? Maybe they had blood on them, but they're pretty dark, so… I dunno. Anyways nobody complained about that. Most likely Crowe got flak because of the smoking itself.

I often forget how popular Toronto is for shooting movies!

@minnowpond has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @fireawaymarmot, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2301 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $758.14. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fireawaymarmot to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

wow @fireawaymarmot what an awesome story and look behind the scenes! Do you work on a lot of productions?

Its been years since I worked as an extra, and I only did it for a while... Was in a few other productions - the Pentagon Papers and Our Fathers; both were shot on the U of T campus. Couple of TV shows but nothing big. I was mostly coasting at the time while trying to get my art career going.

Awesome post friend.
I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good.
best of luck go ahead friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77