Welcome!: My fine Photoshop Art #1

in #art6 years ago

Hallöchen!


I hope some of you nice Steemians are interested in my digital art. :D

Since I was in kindergarten, I did enjoy drawing. While my artistic journey started with drawing ugly Pokémon like a lunatic, I would later scrabble weird fanart of ridiculous anime characters. I guess this resembles the typical development of an artist. Everybody suffers looking at their old art works…

However, recently I decided to work a bit on my dusted art skills and to draw more often. So I figured I could present you guys a work of mine and its progress! : ) I am using Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0, which is pretty outdated I guess since I used no other program for the last 8 years…

Quinn9 Kopie.png

As references for my artworks, I usually look out for photos of fashion models, which give me an idea of realistic and interesting poses. Furthermore, my drawings concentrate on characters, which I made up sometime in the last 15 years and accordingly their designs may look very odd. :0

Quinn1.png

My sketches always turn out to be a little bit confusing and scrawled, but here you can see a cleaned version. I also try to mark the shadows, which will be disregarded completely later on and everything will be shadowed as I feel like!..

Quinn2.png

Since I tried to color this image in a kind of ‘realistic’ way, drawing line art was not necessary. I am also used to work with many layers. Therefore, I draw every object on a different layer and color them separately. I know this is frowned upon many artist, but I don’t know any better.

Quinn3.png

There are many details, which I really look forward to working on. For example, in any other picture I would start with the eyes. As they can’t be seen this time, my concentration went to the sunglasses first. (I never drew shades in Photoshop before.) For the hair, I used by the way an amazing brush I found on deviantart a long time ago.

Quinn4.png

Every time I start a drawing I am like “damn, this will look awful” and although this feeling sticks around for a bit longer, it always surprises me how much more details you can work out with a proper shadowing. (Even if my shades are not always accurate and pretty rough.)

Quinn7.png

In all those years I kind of specialized in drawing only humans. I will avoid doing proper backgrounds at any given time. Trust me. And although I am not so keen on drawing clothes, because they will always look a bit plastic in my art style, I enjoyed choosing the colors. In the past I did tend to only mix glaring colors together. Nowadays I try to pick them more carefully…

Quinn8.png

Well, here you can see the finished piece! As I am looking at it now, there could have been a bit more work done though. However, I guess it won’t come closer to the vision in my head for the time being. This will be a task for a later drawing… It took me about ten hours and I definitely had fun!

Thank you for your visit and I hope you also enjoyed it! : )

Sort:  

Congratulations @fischmelone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @fischmelone,

you did some nice work there. If you use fotos from models you could probably also use fotos from us "normal" people? :)

My brother also uses a similar technique to create images of static objects like chairs, bridges or houses.

best wishes

Lind L. Taylor

bang follback lah and votes

Congratulations @fischmelone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fischmelone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67021.12
ETH 3110.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71