A Ghost Portrait

in #art6 years ago

1.png

Good Day My Steemian Friends!

I tried painting/drawing recently and I used mixed media to create this. I purchased this sketch pad not long ago and it's pretty thick since it's really for use with watercolors. Here's what I did:

I opened it on one page and proceeded with spray painting it! Yes. Spray Paint. Although, it didn't really do anything, this is for the backdrop of my portrait. I used a Silver and a Black colored paint to achieve this:

2.png

That's going to be the backdrop of the portrait. It has a nicely metal touch to it. Like a grunged up silver platter. Here's a closer look for it:

3.png

After doing the backdrop - I started drawing the face by sketching on it with pencils (as seen photo on the left)

5.png

Then, I started painting over it with black acrylic paint (*shown photo on the right). The acrylic paint I used is water-soluble so I was able to paint with it like I would with watercolor, controlling the 'blackness' was easier because of the spray paint. Since it's covering the paper, the paint will not be absorbed right away, resulting to more time to play with the paint and blend it further.

Here's a close-up shot of the eye I've painted (shown on the photo on the right, above):

6.png

I painted all the other parts of the face. Darker parts just required the use of paint - undiluted with water. The shadows and thinner lines required thinning the paint with water.

7.png

Here's another zoomed-in photo for you guys to see the details on this artwork:

8.png

I finished painting the lips and added a few touch-ups on the ones I've already painted on. I didn't have any reference from making this painting. I just painted her into life, I guess.

9.png

Lastly, I have decided to spray paint it again to add a mist effect on it so that our 'ghost' will be more 'life-like' (but it's a ghost!?).

10.png

I used the Silver spray paint for this and made sure to control how much I spray on it so that I won't just cover the whole painting by accident.

Here's a closer look at the finished artwork, I hope you've enjoyed my art:

11.png

In case you're curious, here are the materials I used to make this: Silver Spray Paint, Glossy Black Spray Paint, Black Acrylic Paint, Water, Pencil, and the Sketchpad.

Thanks for dropping by and you have a wonderful day!


Sort:  

Congratulations @flamered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48