Symbols (The bridging of realities)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

373713349595713454513513431334.jpg
Image: Original by @Freeinthought

What Are Symbols Anyways?


I will refrain from attempting to write a thesis here on Steemit regarding the meaning and origins of the use of symbols. I will go so far to state my own beliefs on the matter as concisely as possible.

"What were the...intention and emotions..which went into the development of a particular symbol?"

I believe that symbols alone have no real meaning or purpose in and of themselves. However, like many things in life it is the process or journey that matters. By that I mean what is important is the coding of the symbol itself. What were the mindset, intention and emotions experienced which consciously went into the development of a particular symbol?

That's what gives a symbol its meaning. It's in the coding or impressing upon it a reason for being that gives it the potential to create.


signs-of-the-zodiac-3231779_640.png

SYMBOLS


Secret societies
Crafting wicked strategies
Empowering the few
Dominating the masses
Encrypted messages
Thoughts and desires
Packaged concisely
In geometric simplicity
Its power contained
Until conscious souls
Look upon and gaze
Ponder and wonder
Breathing life
Into ink drawn on page
From chaos to order
Intentions manifested
By active participants
No sage or seer is needed
Just conviction of purpose
Focus and concentration
All warnings not heeded

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.

Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Sort:  

Congratulations @freeinthought! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do you make any distinctions between symbols, sigils and signs?

Hi. Great question, thanks for asking it. I suppose my post may have more aptly been titled Sigils. That seems to fit more technically with what I wrote about. However I wanted to take a more general and broad approach to reaching out with my words.

I would distinguish certainly between all three. Although very similar each have unique meanings with sigils being the most specific and narrow focused I think.

How do you distinguish between them? How are sigils more narrowly focused than the others?

I supposed it is because sigils are more concretely associated with magickal intentions where as symbols / signs are more broadly applied. Also tense is different with signs, it's more past tense where sigils are kinda present/future tense. Not sure if I'm making sense I feel like I'm wandering a bit. But I love the conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99