Red Attic Studio Bits

in #art5 years ago (edited)


Art Making Red


Over the last week I've posted yellow, green and blue items that I found in my attic "studio" and today it is the turn of red.

I thought it might be difficult to find much red as it's not one of my favourite colours for painting. However, as usual, I surprised myself and was able to find a good assortment.

Vintage maps and papers are a common staple for my art work.

I had completely forgotten I had the watercolour art pencils. I'd like to use those again so will need to put them somewhere more prominent!

The charcoal pencils were a free gift and I have never used them, nor I am likely to, so they should be a good candidate in the next round of decluttering.

Probably the most interesting item in this selection is the roll of wire mesh. I have no idea what's it's proper use it. I bought it, along with a blue equivalent when it was in the sale in an art shop.

I use it in my mixed media work but am curious as to what it's true function is. If anyone knows, please let me know in the comments. 😊


red attic.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 10% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Howdy there gillianpearce! wow those are rich reds, I like those! Do you sell your artwork or just do it for fun?

I used to sell it and would still if someone wanted stumbled across it and wanted to buy it.

I stopped subscribing to a website where I was selling it to the public because I got fed up with the marketing.

One of the reasons I do much less art these days it because I have too many pictures lying around the attic already. There are only so many you can hang in your home.

If anyone visits and likes them I give them away but most don't get to see them as it's a bit of a climb to get into the attic in the first place and we're usually busy doing other things anyway. 😊

Howdy again gillianpearce! yeah you're usually busy drinking to bitters? lol. So the attic is like your getaway for peace and quiet time and also for painting? That sounds wonderful if it is. But you don't have a staircase to the attic?

the attic is like your getaway for peace and quiet time and also for painting?

Yes it is but the root isn't insulated so I'm a bit limited as to when I can use it. It's too cold in winter and too hot in summer. 😂

There are no stairs to it, just a loft ladder which pulls down. And the ceiling is quite high so the ladder is steep. Not for the faint hearted! 😱

Howdy again gillianpearce! Yeah we have two of those pull down ladders too, they are very steep! Well that makes the attic space even more private perhaps! Insulation is really helpful too!

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.277 which ranks you at #2730 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2727).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #142.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88