You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Murals and Vandalism in Playa del Carmen

in #art6 years ago

Since you're not going for meaning here, I won't attempt to figure anything out. As it is, I don't know that any of these are "think" or "message" pieces. Not unless they're subtle to the point of subliminal.

I do have to say, though, the anchor tear drop on the first girl is an interesting choice. From what I'm reading, it's supposed to symbolize being grounded or hope. I think there might be some extra significance of it being under the eye, but I don't know what that is. Tear drops are suppose to be about killing someone, but I don't think that's what the anchor is suggesting.

The rest of the images are all very cool, except of course, for our tagger friend, who needs to get a life.

Sort:  

I've always heard the tear drop is about killing someone too, so hopefully that's not what it means here :) Someone pointed out to me that the cassette tape in the one photo says, "The earth dies screaming"!! I'd not noticed that at all!

I'm with you regarding the tagger. Thankfully, I don't see much of it around here!

I did a post a couple days ago on another mural that blew all of these out of the water. Also, no deep meaning there (it was jungle greenery, the ocean as a backdrop, and some animals), but absolutely beautiful. You probably know that most construction here is cinder block based, so grey upon grey. These murals add so much color and beauty to what can be pretty dull. Plus, it helps me ignore all the garbage littered around :)

Yeah, I missed that, too. So, there's two main references to "The Earth Dies Screaming." Since it's on a cassette tape, it could be this song by UB40, which I guess came out in 2010, so well within the era of CDs and potentially digital music (can't remember when that started, but it was back in there somewhere with the iPod and others). If it is that song, the cassette tape fitting into the face of an android (maybe) is an interesting retro throwback.

Here's the video of the song. Kind of weird. A-bomb explosions to reggae music, basically.

There was also a movie by the same name which came out in 1965. It's Sci-Fi, and interestingly enough, it features robots, but they don't look anything like the one in the mural. They look like a cross between a guy wearing a hazmat suit and an old time deep diving suit. This one doesn't have nuclear war at it's heart, though. It's the robots. :)

Here's the trailer, in case you fancy some black and white B-movie watching:

There's also the letters TEAVIM and FABS on the tape too. FABS appears on the other murals, so I'm guessing that's the name of the artist, but the other word is separate by quite a bit of space, so I'm not sure what that's supposed to mean.

Thank you for doing the leg work Glen! The music video is weird, but I remember UB40 well, although not that song :)

They look like a cross between a guy wearing a hazmat suit and an old time deep diving suit

That's funny! This video is also weird...classic B-movie :)

I wondered what TEAVIM meant as well. I guess this one overall doesn't have the guts of the other mural post you researched for me! I really appreciate the effort though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87