Studying the Female Back - in Charcoal - Original content for SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


thumb-groundcontrol.jpg
Today i made a study of the female back in charcoal, i've included some stage shots and a bit of discussion about the process. I hope you enjoy the images and maybe learn something or get inspired. Thanks!

First up, a bit about the paper and charcoal. I used Strathmore 500 charcoal paper in white. Usually this paper is really good, it's my go-to paper for pastel work - but this particular sheet seemed 'dry' and a bit scratchy, the charcoal didn't flow as easily as i was expecting. The paper presented a little challenge but that's what this drawing is about - it's a study.
The intention when making a study compared to attempting a 'masterpiece' is to learn something new, so to quote Bob Ross it was a 'happy little accident', it threw up a bit of an obstacle to deal with and to work out a solution.

fback1-groundcontrol.jpg

In the first couple images, i've blocked in the general shape of the subject using Alphacolor Char-kole which i sanded into a powder and wiped on with a paper towel. Alphacolor is the blackest charcoal you can get, it's very high quality material. Sometimes a vine charcoal will turn brown when you wipe or rub it in so i tend to only use vine charcoal if it's in detail or isn't going to be worked too hard into the paper. I think if i had started with a different paper, maybe Strathmore Bristol Vellum i would have had a bit more range in the mid-tones which would create more opportunity for finer details.

fback2-groundcontrol.jpg

Next i took a General's Charcoal pencil and started finding the edge forms. Notice i didn't try to draw perfect rounded forms with the arms, shoulders, hips etc. The reason is, round lines are hard to draw and you'll most likely make a mistake and ruin the form your trying to capture. Draw short straight lines, focus on just finding the angle and the changes to the form where muscles and bones exist. The lines will evolve and smooth out as the drawing is worked.
fback3-groundcontrol.jpg

I realised the head was in need of some attention and was probably a bit large with the blocked in area. I drew an egg to help define where i thought the skull would be. It was going to be covered in hair and largely in shadow but it did help in judging the size by just making that simple shape. In the final image below i've refined the head some more and made a few more touches to the core shadows and spine. There's more muscle groups and details i could have attempted but with the paper issues at hand, i didn't want to over work it and ruin what i had. It was a study and i'm happy with what i learned today.

fbackfinal-groundcontrol.jpg

And that's it, a relatively quick study in charcoal of a females back. I plan to do a couple more as i'm focusing on back muscles this week in my studies. I'll post again if i can get something together worth sharing.

Thank You


If you liked this post and found it informative please up-vote, re-steem, follow and all those good things. I really appreciate the support. Thanks!

Sort:  

Welcome to Whalepower Tag Usage.
Please Read the Guidelines First - click here , if you haven't please do so.

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblog Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag Applied
#whalepower is Community Project.
Curated By @paul-gillbanks
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Thanks #whalepower i hope i do your tag proud!

thank you for sharing your process. I took life drawing in college. drawing models was the most relaxing freeing time of my week. learned so much studying organic lines, and knowing how to capture angles correctly to portrait posing. excellent detail and very smart idea to enhance skills studying specific part of organic life. followed. cheers!

Your use of shade/light is always so well done. I find such high contrast to be really tricky, but you're able to harness it so well!

Its something i'm working on, it doesn't come easy to me. I tend to draw too much detail so holding back and getting looser is what i'm trying to improve on.
I used to do full photorealistic drawings that would take forever but i never enjoyed the process, it just became a slog and would become annoying if i made a mistake. People who couldn't draw would praise them while a proper trained artist would just shrug at the 'photocopy'.
Now i try to just capture the essence and try to pull light out of the dark, its much more enjoyable and satisfying experience, i'm enjoying art again.
I had a future post in mind about this topic, theres a drawing at my parents house i need to photograph first thou to use as example.

It's funny how we can get caught up in the technical side of art, instead of just letting go and seeing what comes out. I definitely have a pretty loose drawing style, but try to get some technically correct aspects, like proportion, or body position. If I have to work too hard at it, or it doesn't just flow out of my fingertips, then I'm not going to enjoy the process, and if I don't enjoy it, I'm never going to finish it.
I have a huge appreciation for photorealism because I know how much work it takes. But I can definitely see where it could take the joy out of it. And if that's the case, then what's the point? Right?

Great work @groundcontrol, so delicate work, love the way you explained process, waiting for more off course :)

Thanks @jungwatercolor for the resteem! 😀

You been so great support to me, this is least I can do :)

Awesome! Really helpful with your description.

Thanks, hopefully theres something in these posts that is useful for other artists.

very good job :)

I love the drawings made with charcoal ! But when I do it it really doesn't look good haha I should try again

I'm till trying, i don't think theres an end to it - Always try again!

Very cool, thanks for sharing. <3

Thank you @sammosk - you are a legend!

Just helping out where I can. <3

Hello :-) I really like your stuff and follow you now. I wanted to ask you, if you can give me some tips and tricks AND if I can get in contact with you outside of steemit - I am new to steemit and maybe this is not the right place to ask this... hope I don't bother someone.

THANKS FOR SHARING!

Just keep following, i put all the info i can in my posts and can answer questions if i know the answer.
I don't use any other socials than steemit.

Ok thanks :-)

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75