Inktober - Day #04 "Spell"

in #art6 years ago




Once you test the ink, there's no going back,
your world is diluted in it.
-Hadley4


You don't know how happy I am today, I have tried a new technique and I love it. I confess that I am not very skillful for painting, I have tried some times to paint some drawings with liquid paints and I have been pretty good, but I have never risked too much.

Some time ago I bought some watercolors, but I only tried them on a drawing and put them in my drawer (where they have been keeping dust), I was amazed at the effect they produced by following the path of water, but I could not wait and almost ruined the paper. At that time I also bought some liquid ink, and had seen a few videos on YouTube where they used it with watercolors, if they diluted it in water.

Like watercolors, I tried this once and saved it; since it's the fourth day of the inktober, I wanted to experiment a little, since some artists have been doing their drawings with this liquid ink, I said to myself "Why not try it too? These kinds of challenges are for the better. So after some tests on another sheet of paper, I put myself together and tried to paint today's drawing with liquid ink. The theme is "Spell", so I made a beautiful magician in the middle of her spell.



Materials:

  • Opaline white leaf (A4) 180 gr
  • Liquid ink and brushes
  • Black Gel pen
  • Mechanical pencil 0.7 HB



-Step 1:

I made the sketch, taking into account the position that my character would take within the sheet, so you can see two lines that divide the sheet into four parts, also I added a frame to delimit the drawing.



-Step 2:

Then I started drawing, I did it from the bottom up, because there are fewer details (and I'm a little nervous at first).



-Step 3:


Before starting to paint, I have done some tests on a separate sheet, this way I could determine the amount of ink and water appropriate to achieve the desired tones and thus reduce the risk of ruining the original drawing, always be cautious.

-Step 4:


Now it's time to paint! I started adding a soft layer of ink to the whole character, here is where I notice that almost ruined everything, as you saw in the materials, this time I used a gel pen for the delineating, replacing in marker that I have used these days, that was the best decision I have made, because in his legs I used a little marker and passing a little water on him, what a surprise I took the marker diluted with water!, my drawing was about to ruin, fortunately was only in that area where I used. Therefore I advise you to test your signs before using them, it is very frustrating to ruin a drawing by a carelessness of these.



What is inktober?

The inktober is an initiative created by the illustrator Jake Parker in 2009, in order to improve his artistic skills, although over the years has made a great impact on the international artistic community. The challenge is to make a drawing with ink every day, hence its name, "ink" (ink) "tober" (October), although for the most part this is respected, many other artists prefer to stay in their comfort zone, so you can see illustrations made with watercolors, graphite, charcoal, digital and any existing technique.


Source



My Inktober Calendar

Day 1Day 2Day 3Day 4Day 5Day 6
PoisonousTranquilRoastedSpell
Day 8Day 9Day 10Day 11Day 12Day 13
------------
Day 14Day 15Day 16Day 17Day 18Day 19
------------
Day 20Day 21Day 22Day 23Day 24Day 25
------------
Day 26Day 27Day 28Day 29Day 30Day 31
------------

If you are looking to improve your artistic skills, this challenge is for you, you can publish your results on social networks using the hagstag #inktober or #inktober2018. See you in a future post!

Copyright @hadley4

Thank you for your support

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice, @hadley4!!! Love this one :D The pose is so nice and the witch looks in trance as she casting her spell <3 Lovely step by step, also * ___ *

Thank you! I had a lot of fun doing it, the inktober is making me fall in love.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00