The "Golden Triangle"

in #art6 years ago

R0010098.JPG

Lately I've been harping on about photo composition so I thought I'd keep up the theme whilst posting a photo of @krystalfinnigan that I love.

Even though it's a simple photo I think her hands and shirt really make it work. When I was framing up the shot I did my best to make use of the golden triangle composition to help make the photo more visually appealing.

This is based on the idea that if you draw a diagonal line through the photo with an adjacent line reaching out to the other corners of the frame the eye is naturally drawn to the points where they meet. Like shown below.


Source

Now when taking photos its one thing to have this compositional idea in mind but its another thing all together to capture it in the moment.

After taking the shot and importing it to my computer I was happy with the result. I've drawn up the triangle over the photo to help illustrate the point, but when I did...

R0010098comp.jpg

I realised I was a little bit off the 90 degree tangent haha. Ideally Krystal's hands and face would have met right where the lines do, but it wasn't quite right. You can't win them all though and you know what they say about practice.

I was originally inspired to make this photo by Henri Cartier-Bresson.


Source

He took this photo of his wife while she was reading, her crossed legs forming a great example of the golden triangle.

I think it's important to remember that these composition techniques I've mentioned in my previous posts are just techniques, they don't have to be followed to make a good photo. But if your out there shooting and want to try and apply these methods keep those little diagonal lines in mind when framing up a shot and get creative with your compositions!

Here is a bonus photo that I love by Henri, it's another great example of this technique.


Source


Yours with Purpose
@harrynewman

Free Spirit, Creative
Positive Thinker
An Adventure Awaits Us

Sort:  

Wahhh it's outstanding un understandable photography that's name triangle photography hehehe great outstanding blog post wow

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by harrynewman from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great advice I will try this principle

Hi there! Yes, this is correct. The Golden Triangle is another variation of the Golden Ratio, which Cartier-Bresson understood very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43