Connect with yourself through mandalas

in #art6 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The human being has aspired to access the recondite part of its mind for many years. We know we possess a subconscious who holds great part of what we are. That influences our way of acting but we do not have any control over it. That's the reason why different techniques have been developed to try to manifest this side of us.

Today I'm going to talk a bit about one of this methods, the mandalas.

The word "mandala" means "circle", but the meaning of the mandala goes far beyond a geometric concept. It represents totality, balance and the notion that life is never ending. It is about infinity.

The mandalas are known for being spiritual tools used by The Hindus and by Buddhists. They have different significance according to their designs and colors and often symbolize people’s path in life.

In addition, they are also an amazing way of meditation because they allow individuals to feel their connection to universe. The design of the mandalas is aimed at the cessation of thought and the mind desire to reach a meditative state. They promote creativity and freedom.

Having read so many good opinions about them, I did my first attempt at drawing one and I will share my experience.

My experience

I tried to draw it without thinking too much about it, to somehow let the design flow from me. I let any judgement aside, of whether it will look nice or not. I did not think if the colors would match. I just poured my mind into the paper.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

As I was advancing, the lines started to emerge effortlessly. I did not check at what time I exactly started so I don’t know how long it took to develop it. It could be hours, it could be minutes. I’m not sure, but truth is that I could not feel anything during that moment that weren’t the pencil and colors in my fingers.

I felt disconnected of my problems and in tune with something else beyond me.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I can’t actually say I achieved a meditative state, since it’s something that requires practice and expertise, but the feeling of harmony while I was drawing made the experience unique.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I truly enjoyed the process of birthing my mandala. I was impressed to discover how vibrant and happy it looks like. As I thought about it, I reflected that this 1st month of the year has been peaceful and fulfilling for me, so it is adequate.

Yet, I have not noticed until I did the mandala.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The final result

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I totally recommend it to anyone who wants to express themselves in a different way. To explore their creativity and have some special time where you can be with yourself, with your thoughts, with your sensations.

You’re invited to share your own experiences with the mandalas. I’d love to hear them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63