How I Created My Newest Artwork! My Shroom Gal ;)

in #art6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.48.41 PM.png

Hello everybody!

Today I would like to share this story with you about how this painting came to be...

A few hours earlier I have been a part of a conversation about psychedelic mushrooms, and while I was driving back to my house an image of a girl with her arms raised above her head and mushrooms growing out the top of it popped into my head so vividly that I walked in the door, dumped my bag, pulled out my last big sheet of watercolour paper and drew her exactly as I had met her in my head. The biggest thing for me to capture was the positioning of the big mushroom house at the back of her head because to me that was almost like the door into her mind, and the current proportions and positioning of her hands.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.47.05 PM.png

I knew the colours I wanted to use so I lay them down and worked till she and the mushrooms where perfect to me.

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.47.21 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.47.34 PM.png

But she did not look finished, and i hadn't seen past this point in my head. I put a picture of the painting at this point on my instagram asking anyone for suggestions about how to make her more finished, what is very funny about this is that by the time my sister got home and saw that I had already laid down a purple background she exclaimed "OH! I was going to suggest purple but i didn't think you would like it...actually, I was going to suggest a purple galaxy." I laughed and showed her the little mock up i had done for the background, a purple galaxy....she was freaked out! Apparently she just needs to trust her gut more because she could have taking credit for the idea!

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.47.57 PM.png

This painting is really, really different to anything I have created before! There is no white space on the painting at all!! I think I actually grew some courage with this painting. Because I do this full time, I put so much pressure on myself to create only good artworks that I can make prints of...Im scared to mess them up because my time is so precious to me and I haven't wanted to make mistakes. With this painting, I literally didn't let that thought enter my head. If I thought of something to add in, and sat with it for a moment and liked it, I just did it! Even with the white continues outline around the whole artwork is something I wouldn't usually gamble, especially when I decided to add a gold outline around that outline!!!!

But honestly, I am actually a little bit obsessed with this artwork! As i was painting it I was actually laughing at the fact its so unlike me to paint like this...and I tell you what, I really LOVE IT!!! I still have a few details to add to the symbols down the bottom of the painting, and finish off the lips, so i'll post a picture of the finished artwork as soon as she's done!

Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.49.01 PM.png

Thank you so much for reading, I appreciate it so much! I hope you liked my little creation story :)

Have a wonderful day,

Headlessjess ox
Screen Shot 2018-02-22 at 12.49.37 PM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58