Step by step #1 - Drawing and coloring a fairy

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

It's my first day here! I introduced myself a few hours ago, and now it's time to write my first article :-)
As I told you in my previous post, I'm a professional illustrator and comic colorist. What I want to do here is to share my work with you, explain the process, the steps from the first sketch to the final drawing, and have your opinion about it.

The first illustration I wanted to show you is the one I used for my banner on my home page. I love this one because I had much fun painting it!

vignette.jpg

I began with a pencil sketche, on a piece of paper. That's the start point.
sailormoon-sketch1.jpg

I scanned it and reworked it with the pencil tool on Photoshop. The next steps are only digital, I didn't use a real pencil anymore. Here, I tried a version with the head turned on the right side, but I was not convinced...
sailormoon-sketch2.jpg

So I changed it, and I was more satisfied, even if it was not perfect yet :-) I also worked on her chest, I didn't want it to be too big...

sailormoon-sketch3.jpg

Then I made a rotation of the whole image, and put the head at the right place. I added details and the hands, and drew a sketch of the wings behind her. I wanted it to be delicate, majestic and magic...
sailormoon-sketch4.jpg

Last step before coloring: I overpainted the character to see the global shape. I think it has to be understandable to be a good charadesign...
sailormoon-sketch6.jpg

And here are the steps for the coloring!
colo1-2.jpg
colo3-4.jpg
colo5-6.jpg

At this point, I was satisfied, it was already nice. But I was not totally conviced by the background color...
I decided to change, and simply tried a white one... That was better!
colo7.jpg

Then I decided to soften some parts of the fairy, and the result pleased me :-)
colo8.jpg

I hope this step by step was interesting :-) If you think I could have made it better, don't hesitate to give me advices in the comment section!

Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

Sailor moon-ish! beautiful work! thank you for sharing your flow!

Hi @helenelenoble i couldn't say anything wrong about it. I'm very impressed with your talent. Keep up the good work. Keep sharing. Maybe you may also share the exact tools you used in photoshop e.g brushes . Thanks

Thank you @funtravaller! Yes, it's a good idea, in a next post I'll explain the tools I use :-)

Great! i really think that you are a valuable asset to the steemit. Keep it up. Thanks Helene!

Fantastic second post and an absolutely beautiful painting.
I agree with @funtraveller about talking about your tools as well. What drawing tablet do you use?
You should check out @beekart. He is fairly new and kinda doing the same things as you. :)

Thank you @doctorcrypto! Good idea, I'll make a post about the tools and tablet I use. Here, I worked with Photoshop, on the Cintiq 21UX.
I just went to @beekart, and became a fan :-)




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Thany you @humanbot :-) Yes of course, all I'm going to post here is original work from me :-)

Yes, and just to be clear, this badge also signifies more than just "not plagiarized" - I only award this when I think the work is actually truly original in the "creative" and "unique" sense. Glad you are on board, full Steem ahead! Cheers - Carl "Totally not a bot" Gnash

Wonderful final result, I think the final step of softening some parts really made her feel more faerie-like and ethereal. Thanks for sharing the process pics, I always enjoy seeing a drawing come to life. Following :) Cheers - Carl

Thanks a lot @carlgnash! And welcome here :-)

Your work is absolutely stunning! So glad to have you here on Steem. I'm excited to see more.

Thanks a lot for this compliment @bryan-imhoff! Welcome here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69