Daily Doodle #8: Grackle

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The A**holes of the Sky!


If you’ve never lived in or visited Central Texas, you may be unfamiliar with today’s animal. I present to you, the common Grackle. I knew about these birds long before I found out their name.

grackle 1.png

While working at a hotel downtown, I would always see them out by the smokers patio. They seemed fearless and many of them had feathers so tattered, you’d think they just left a knife fight. The males and females alike would strut around, eyeballing us closely, and pick up food scraps and crumbs inches away from our feet. I’ve never seen them attack anyone, but I certainly wouldn’t want to tangle with one. That crazed look in their eyes almost seems to say “Just try something, man. I’ll cut you!”

grackle 2.png

I ended up doing some research on them a while back and found out that they are also a**holes to other bird species. I have read that they will kill sparrows, gouge out their eyes, and eat their brains. ::clears throat:: I said THEY EAT OTHER BIRDS’ BRAINS, PEOPLE! That’s messed up! Regardless, they are a staple of the Austin scene, and I’m not too worried about them becoming large enough to begin eating our brains any time soon. But, if they do, I say we feed them the hipsters first.

grackle 3.png

Another note about grackles is that they travel in huge groups. And I guess they all call each other in advance to organize a meeting place because we've seen THOUSANDS congregated in the trees at our local Walmart. This video is the closest example I could find on short notice to depict the beginning of the Fall migration for grackles, but it doesn't do it justice.

Anyway, since beginning work in a place with a big pigeon population, it’s become kind of a toss up on which bird is the bigger a**hole. Maybe I will do a daily sketch of some Pigeons and discuss their awful behavior and you guys can decide which one is worse.

Until next time!

grackle full.jpg


02 June 2018
12:04 - 12:55
(51 minutes)


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #sketch #drawing #pencil #slothicorn #dailydoodles #dailysketches #grackle #bird #wildlife #sketches #graphite #speedpainting #speeddrawing #practice #texas #wings #austin

Sort:  

Gorgeous sketches, @hglucky13 ! You really capture the bird's inquisitive looks with that cute head tilt poses :D Love the crosshatching works on these, also <3

Thank you so much! I never think to draw birds, but when I do, I have a lot of fun. They have those crazy eyes that are never not fun to draw. Might do more since Grackles are everywhere here, but I also have a history of watching Pigeons at my work, and some nesting finches/sparrows at our apartment.

"But, if they do, I say we feed them the hipsters first."
Haha))) Lol.

Nice sketches and interesting post. Thank you. Keep it up.👍

resteemed and upvoted as well.

Lol, glad you noticed that. I think the common Grackle population in Austin is second only to the common hipster. 😜

Thanks so much for the resteem!

Excellent art, this wonderful your illustration

You have the gift, that is not discussed, you captured the essence of the bird (hipsters) in every sense that may exist, I congratulate you.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60