Daily Doodle #3: Beardies

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Careful! There be dragons afoot...


1 (1).png

As you might notice, the stats below show that I spent a lot more time on this day than the last two and have much less to show. My answer to such inquiries? Scaly creatures are tough, okay?! 😉 Every exterior and interior line that defines their shape is wiggly as hell due to the texture of their skin. It’s really tough to draw them without adding some amount of scaling detail. I did my best to split the difference between complete sketch work and being overly detailed. Sure, I have done more detailed beardie portraits in the past, but man does reptile art take forever. For these drawings, I used simple circular motions to build up the tones while also creating a sense of texture.

2 (1).png

I actually used to have a pet beardie. Her name was Ozzie and she was one of my more interested pets. Well, until an accident nearly broke her back. After that she refused to move when being held by people. I can’t blame her after what happened. Regardless, I enjoyed the time I had with her. Unfortunately, during a rather hectic move, I had to rehome her to a friend with herp-pet experience. I was sad to see her go, but I was having such a hard time looking after her that I was relieved to know she was going to a much more capable family.

3 (1).png

I think one day, when I have more space and money, it would be cool to get another Bearded Dragon. They’re very unique pets and definitely fun to have around. I suppose that ought to do it for today.

Until next time!

full (1).jpg


29 May 2018
12:27 - 13:15
(48 minutes)


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #sketch #drawing #pencil #slothicorn #dailydoodles #dailysketches #wildlife #animals #reptiles #lizards #pets #herpitology #beardeddragon #beardies #desert #australian #illustration #eyes #practice

Sort:  

Hello @hglucky13, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

You are so talented. I would love to be able to draw that good.

Thank you again! It just takes time and practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93