Mystic Gnu | step-by-step

in #art6 years ago (edited)


user36035_pic5766_1236750734.jpg

This is my first attempt at creating vector art. It's my take on the mascot of the Free Software Foundation, so it's only fitting that I created it using Inkscape, which is free and open-source :)


First I made a quick sketch. I had this idea that the Mystic Gnu would spring forth from the computer screen to startle a poor guy working on his computer late at night. Maybe he's an artist hard at work trying to meet a deadline or something :D


gnu_sketch.jpg


Then I started inking the outlines in Inkscape ..


guy.jpg


gnu_ine.jpg


The next step was coloring the gnu ..


gnu_color.jpg


He rather looks flat :) .. So I did some shadowing to give him volume and make him pop a bit ..


gnu_lightshade.jpg


gnu_final.jpg


Here's how I made the gnu step by step ..


steps.gif


Finally I put the gnu and the guy together and created the rest of the scene. I added a bit of lighting and voilà!


user36035_pic5766_1236750734.jpg



I hope you guys like it :)

Sort:  

Wow.. nice character design..awesome bro.

Appreciate the kind words man.

Nice work. What kind of drawing pad did you have? Do you like Vector?

Thanks. I actually made this using a mouse. I used to have a Wacom Bamboo tablet but I lost it a while ago unfortunately. I'm contemplating buying a new one though. RE: vector it was quite pleasant working with vectors for the first time. Much more forgiving than raster from my POV.

yep..great character design n nice art style..great job man!!

Thanks for the words of encouragement. I really appreciate it.

Good work with Inkscape! I use Linux and Gimp. Tried Inkscape, Krita, and MyPaint but haven't been very productive with them.

Thank you. Like you I used Linux and still use Gimp. I've dabbled a bit in Krita and maybe tried MyPaint once or twice. You should have a look at Blender too if you're into 3D art.

I'm a 2D artist but I looked into doing Non-Photorealistic Rendering (NPR) in Blender. I just can't understand Blender's user interface.
http://blendernpr.org/

Yeah that's a common gripe people have with Blender. I was lucky to learn it at a time when I didn't have any prior experience with other 3D software so I wasn't put off by the weird UI.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64