"What am I worth?" A social experimentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

What am I worth is a performance art piece I did recently. The interesting thing lately I have found is my ideas I have sat on for a year, a few months or days have become jumping opportunities for me that I've begun to answer "Yes" too.

This idea came and those I spoke it aloud to replied with worrying no's and questions of why would you put yourself out there like that?

But I wanted to ask the question - not in the format of myself but I phrased the question so when it is asked "what am I worth?" would have people asking in technicality themselves. The idea was that " I " was not me. I followed it by the question "is human life a monetary value?"

In the world that we live in today where people are told you are worth X amount of money an hour, lives are lost over a $2 pack of cigarillo's, we define people by their net worth, incarcerate at alarming rates for ridiculous offenses because our prisoners make profit, and so many other defining ways we tell people their life, as a human, equals this.

Why? Question it.

image
image
image
image
image
image

If you have any questions regarding this piece, please ask them below. Thank you!

Sort:  

Such a powerful post and message!!

Thank you for all the support you give!

What a fantastic idea. Good for you!

Love this work. Have an upvote and a follow.

Thank you so much. I am grateful for the upvote and follow!

Wow . I usually see these kinds of experiments on the internet in videos but to actually see someone I can interact with! I really appreciate what you did. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you! I'm super humbled to connect and discuss. It's funny, we did film but my videographer lost the video when uploading. It was a sad but we are still trying recovery methods to get the footage back!

This is a great idea and really shows a human like yourself what true value really is. Thanks for sharing @iamthebluerose.

Thank you for the kind words. I hope to bring a little light to the all of what we shy away from.

No problem @iamthebluerose. Keep up the good work

Where did you do this at? Your right though a human life is measured in "worth" and sold on credit to support our system. Like cogs in a machine.

I did this at an event in sacramento called Concerts in the park!

Great post. Thanks for sharing this!

<3 I try my best!

Congratulations @iamthebluerose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really love this kind of art. Thanks for sharing. Congratulations!

Thank you! It was an exciting experience!

Awesome idea! I wish I was able to join you for this :)

There will be more possibly different versions/topics. If you ever wanted to participate I think it could be wild to have a group experiment like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59