Young Child

in #art7 years ago

My work often starts with no set intention to create. I sit with a canvas and allow my hands to work and move the paint around until I see something within the piece. And this one was eerily created some months before the passing of my mother. 13524481_585861088256614_146037393732026156_n.png
What I see in this piece is a vibrant representation of my younger sister illuminated in pinks, reds, and gold. Essences of a womb with birth of a little bird being held in blue arms represented me caring over her. A child knelt down with a sunken posture and uplifting from blue arms.

I say the it was an eerily creation because the loss of my mother came unexpected and with my process I never saw this coming forth. For me though, this holds a great depiction of the now existing relationship I hold with my younger sister. The shared connection of my mother and sister is that of a genetic seizure disorder called periventricular heterotopia. This disorder in my mom contributed to a protein C deficiency making her blood thicker than it ought to be. My mother's passing came by of a stroke in the lower region of her brain and in the brain stem. And although, this all seems dooming I like to share the story of my mother the nurse, college graduate, and mother who lived a life without the disorder defining her. This is now the story of my younger sister. A 7 year old intelligent and creative just as I am. We live life with little hiccups with watchful eyes and lust for adventures.

Our understanding of the world is a little different now as we see the shortness that truly exists to life. Days spent on hikes, at beaches, painting, all the joys of childhood movies, and much more. This piece is one of the most significant works of art I've created and it is what felt best to share as the first.
12193308_1198359766844437_1832204505444346610_n.jpg

Please share with me what you see as well in the piece. My perspective only boarders by your sharing. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62