What is art? What does it mean to be an Artist?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I always get confused when I think of what defines an art, or what exactly is it. Most people might simply say; art is in the eye of the beholder. However, that seems a little simple, and this is where I struggle the most. Now, I realize 'art' has very many forms, shapes, features, perspectives, origins, mediums... but what exactly makes exhibit A more appreciated than exhibit B? I see tried an true simple methods create acclaimed masterpieces, and using the same methods, some absolutely fail. Some pieces achieve greatness through time, almost like w fine whine.

Anyway, I was going to make a whole rant post about this, but then I decided, meh... Also, the whole reason I decided to mention it; recently I went to a gallery (one that permitted the use of cameras) and looked around. The pieces varied. Some were quite interesting, while others looked like someone threw trash on the floor.... (a parking cone with fake fur on it, on a twister mat...).

I took some pictures of the work that interesting me the most, and tried to represent that perspective through my own photography.

DSC05308.jpg

A splash on a vertical plane. Staring straight at this, I wasn't that inspired. However, when I started to play with the shadow and contrast, I found it enjoyable.

DSC05306.jpg

This is one of those pieces I was referring too in my opener. I understand it's playing on a 3D medium, but... I just couldn't see beyond a board with fishing wire wrapped around it... I don't know.

DSC05300.jpg

This was a chandelier made from recycled plastic bottles. It was interesting enough to draw my attention, and as I moved in with my lens, it just seem so odd; strange. I enjoyed the colors as well.

I would love to here all your thoughts on art and creativity. What do you enjoy and why? What do you find ridiculous and hard to appreciate? Leave your answers in the comments below! Also, be sure to check out my other post, or give me a like and follow! It's appreciated!

@ImLikeTT

Sort:  

You have been having SO much fun! What is art? On my desk "Art should disturb the comfortable and comfort the disturbed." I think that would apply to any form, any genre. Anything which elicits a reaction, especially an emotional reaction, could fall under the creative umbrella?

Wow I really like that, I haven't heard that expression before.

its Amazing .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66