Old Sheldon Church Yemassee, SC

in #art6 years ago (edited)

During college I traveled a lot between North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia I enjoyed the open road. Gas averaged $0.85 to $1.00. Lights would flash if there was a speed trap ahead. I had my usually stoping points. But one has been with me since my first visit to Beaufort, SC. I passed through Yemassee, SC. You would never know you were there. Driving a long stretch of tree lined road between interstate 95 and Beaufort, you will pass by a historical marker. You would not have time to read it to know that you are passing the ruins of Old Sheldon Church. Across the road is a ghost of a southern past.

I can not quote the history of the church or how many times it was burned. This is one of the most peaceful places I have ever visited. My visits are few and years apart now. I do not know if I will ever get another chance to visit.

I came across some pictures from my last visit and wanted to share them. I hope to find my photos from my first visit to share as well.

Remains of an iron fence at Old Sheldon Church Ruins in Yemassee, SC just north of Beaufort, SC

fullsizeoutput_441.jpeg

Above ground tombs

fullsizeoutput_440.jpeg

Looking left of the pulpit from what would be the entrance.

fullsizeoutput_443.jpeg
(I saw the face after I took the picture)

The Church

fullsizeoutput_442.jpeg

Thanks for reading. Hope you enjoy your visit

Sort:  

Congratulations @invisiblestorm! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @invisiblestorm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81