Galactic backpack - art on canvas

in #art6 years ago

The backpacks or bags as we call it in Venezuela, are very useful at the time of leaving home because in them we can transport what we need. A few months ago I was a victim of a robbery and I ran out of a bag for quite some time, until my sister gave me a simple and unicolor, when I saw it I came up with the idea of decorating it with spatial motives, I visualized painting nebulas and stars that made it in a unique and personalized bag to my liking. So I set out to buy the necessary paintings to materialize the idea and here they have the final result.

GALACTIC BACKPACK

photo_2018-06-10_16-56-34.jpg


MATERIALS

To paint this bag I used a few materials, most of them I found in my house, I only had to buy the paintings. Here is a list of everything I used:

-Papel of any kind to fill the bag.

-Paints (fuchsia, blue, black, aquamarine green, white and purple)

-Small pieces of sponge.

-Toothbrush.

-Lids to mix paints.

-Water container.

P1070510.JPG


How did I paint this backpack?


Before painting the bag I filled it with paper balls, this in order to stretch the fabric and create hardness on the surface to paint more easily.

PAINTING PROCESS

I covered most of the bag with black paint because this color would serve me perfectly as a background. I had to use a lot of paint because the fabric was absorbent and with the first layer I painted, the black was still opaque, so I waited for it to dry well and applied a second coat of paint.

mochi1.JPG


For greater comfort when wetting the sponge and to avoid accidents always empty small amounts of paint on the lid of the container, this allows me to take more paint without staining my fingers.

mate1.jpg


With the sponge well soaked in white paint, I began to trace the center of the nebulae. The first nebula I painted on the top of the bag applying large amounts of paint so that the color penetrated well into the fabric and did not look dull when dried.

mochi2.JPG


Then I changed sponge and took fuchsia paint to continue making the nebula. I combined the fuchsia a bit with the white to create a degradation of colors and give it a more realistic look. Painting with sponges offers the advantage of being able to apply pressure to impregnate the fabric with paint.

mochi3.JPG


With purple paint I continued making the gradient of colors to the nebula, I was a bit nervous since it was the first one I did, but then I could relax to see that it was looking good. To paint this bag I had to change sponges every time I used a new color, so I was cautious and brought water to the table where I was working to wash the sponges.

mochi4.JPG


At this point I used navy blue paint, I had to put a drop of white to clarify the tone and create a harmonic gradient between light purple and blue.

mochi6.JPG


The previous nebula was almost ready but I needed to continue creating more, so I repeated the process painting a new nebula on the right side of the bag, this time it was easier to shape it with the sponge and make it look shiny.

mochi7.JPG


I managed to take several shades of blue from the same painting, combining them with white and aquamarine green, at this point I was already very tired. Previously I had painted some shoes with a galactic motif and it was fairly easy and fast, but I never thought that painting a bag in the same way was so exhausting.

mochi8.JPG


On the front I painted several nebulae to speed up the process, and then I dedicated myself to painting the gradients of colors and joining the black tone of the space with the blue of the nebulas.

mochi91.JPG


With a match I painted stars on the bag. This I did by dipping the match in white paint and then pressing on the bag to leave small dots.

mochi92.JPG


To paint the millions of tiny stars that abound in space I used a toothbrush, which I wet with white paint and then splash the bag to get a nice result.

mochi93.JPG


FINAL RESULT

#

Finally I accentuated the colors of the nebulae and I finished blurring some areas that needed to join the colors a bit, I also splashed with white paint in parts that lacked stars and that's how I got this great final result:

photo_2018-06-10_16-56-34.jpg


I thank all those who took a few minutes to review my work, it was something that took me a long time, specifically three days to get a good colors definition. I am very pleased with the result, now I have a bag to wear every time I go out. If you want to support my work you can do so by voting and commenting.

pestaña.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Such creative thought, that toothbrush splash gave a splendid finishing.

Hi @iraidamatheus!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with ocd - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62