Digital Painting - Johnny Depp as Barnabas in Dark Shadows!

in #art6 years ago

Have you guys ever seen the TV show, or, the movie — "Dark Shadows"?

Hello friends and good evening to you! I hope your day has been awesome and you are getting to have a little bit of down time. Today I wanted to share a painting I did of Johnny Depp as his character Barnabas, from Dark Shadows. Dark Shadows was a hit TV show back in the late 60's early 70's that followed a wealthy family and the supernatural events that transpired there. In 2012, Tim Burton (my favorite director btw) decided to give it a re-boot and made a major motion film that highlighted the hilarity of Barnabas, the vampire that comes back to his home after two centuries buried underground. It's truly a hoot - I personally really enjoyed the movie even though I had never seen the TV show.

I'm a big fan of Johnny Depp so motivation to paint this was not lacking. This was done a couple of years ago and I actually entered it into a contest to win a chance to meet Tim Burton.. which would have been amazing since he is such an artistic inspiration of mine. I didn't win, but that's ok - I had a lot of fun working on it!

"Johnny Depp as Barnabas from Dark Shadows", Digital Painting; Photoshop








Anyway, let me know if you ever saw this tv series or the newer movie! Do you enjoy Tim Burton? I know there are some mixed reviews among people - some don't really care for his vision.

As always, y'all, thank you times a million for taking the time to say hello! Your continued support means the world to me! Until next time... STEEM ON!


Wanna check out some of my recent posts?

Click on the thumbnail images below

   


Sort:  

Nice drawing! Dark shadows was an interesting movie--it had good jokes too!

Keep up the good work! I like your style and use of color :)

Thank you so much @titus-andronicus! I too enjoyed the jokes - HAH! Thank you for checking out my painting and saying hello! I really liked your poem "The Mechanical Hound"!

Hi, @j-vo! Your work is lovely! Thanks for reading my work :)

I loved the goth camp of the old show. I never saw the movie, not sure if I will. Would you recommend it? Also, the painting turned out really cool.

Yeah! I really liked it.. I mean .. there were probably a few corny moments, but overall it was really enjoyable - watched with the fam and the kids really liked it. I need to hunt down the old show and give it a shot. With the length of time it aired, it had to have been good! Thanks for stopping by this evening @donnadavisart!

Damn you really captured the likeness... i'm always blown away by quality digital art.. for some reason soon as i pick up that wacom my hand turns into a 3 year olds with a crayon hahah... i do think your background is my favorite part though really, really liking that texture and color

Yay! Thank you! It's a good feeling when you hear that!

I totally know what you are talking about - honestly it took me some time and I don't do nearly as well with my Wacom pen that is designed for android and mac tablets because those surfaces are so slippy! I can't draw without traction damnit!!! lol - my Wacom has a good bit of surface texture still left on it (its starting to get pretty worn out though and I won't upgrade because I really want to hold out for a Cintique!)

One thing that helped me was using the pen nib that has a lot of texture to it - it makes it feel a LOT like a pencil on paper so it definitely feels more natural and what I am used to from all of my traditional training.

The best thing about digital art though, is the freedom to explore and create without fear of f'ing up the whole thing and having to start ALLLLLLLL over. Lord knows I have been there a million times - being able to delete a layer and start over and preserve all the time and effort already expensed is AMAZING. And I have found I am a lot more daring to try and experiment because I know it isn't permanent and can be undone if it fails! So liberating. But definitely makes my appreciation for amazing work done traditionally because of the opposite - every stroke is permanent and with some mediums, it can't be undone once it is placed - which is enough to create a mini panic-attack — HAH!

Texture is my jam - especially splatters - which is why I think I like your work so much - you use a lot of that in your work and its visually very intriguing!

Hahaha... o man it's crazy that you say that about digital... because that's totally how i feel about my painting work. I love to draw so I always have a sketch of what i'm gonna do and will sketch that out on the canvas.. then it's time to get messy ( and i'm totally with you on that texture.. mess.. splatter thing, tickles my brain just right haha)

i'll usually scan my sketch then print it out and cut it out so i have the outline.. throw that on the canvas in pencil... paint everywhere, and then come back when it's all dry and ink it with pens... but anytime i'm panting/ or inking i can always just paint over any mess up... or throw some water on it and make a new mess to draw/ink on... and that stencil comes in super handy to keep the overall proportions of what i got going on.. i used to free hand it on the canvas.. then had to do that 10 times in one piece cause i kept painting over the pencils....rookie hahaha... but i never really get that panic attack.. trust i have messed up so many arts too.. usually pen only drawings... but now it always seems paint is the eraser hahahaha!!

Really can appreciate your attention to detail here, and how you kept a bushy sort of feel... like a nice little transition between the two... again great piece here.. you got a new follower for sure!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69054.54
ETH 3793.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70