Large Multi-Panel Painting of Baseball Collage - Introduction to a Large Painting Project with JVO

in #art6 years ago


I am starting a new project - and it's gonna be BIG (literally)

My best friend's son just turned 15 and he is super into baseball. He is an incredible athlete and he is getting older so she wants him to have something to hang on his wall to mature his room a bit. She found a really cool black and white picture of some old baseballs and asked if I could paint it for him as our birthday gift to him. I was biting at the opportunity before she even asked. I told her it would be awesome to paint it really big, and I wanted to play with having it on multiple panels. "We have some old closet doors that would be perfect", she said, "We can remove the hardware and you can use some wood filler to patch up any mis-fit holes". "YAAAAAASSS!!".

Since it is going to take me a bit to get the final physical piece done, and I mocked up theoretically what it would look like once finished and mounted on his wall, using her photograph.

I am also printing the initial digital sketch I did in Photoshop and will give him that so he can see my "blueprint plans". I plan to use these sketches as a bit of a stencil to help blow it up to the 79"x14.75" doors. Then I will use the image reference to paint the panels.

So, I will be posting my process as I paint these door panels. I plan to use Acrylics as a base and may work in some oil on top. I am really excited about this piece because there will be a lot of texture and I want to experiment with some various techniques to achieve it.

I also need to figure out a way to work in his last name and his jersey number. I don't necessarily want a border, but was the first thought I considered. It might be cool to build some other floating type structure that would hover over the middle board somehow.. Its still quite fuzzy in my head, but I think playing with dimension would be pretty interesting. It could possibly plaque like, where every year a little brass name plate could be engraved with his team name, year and jersey number (because I think the number can change over the years, right?)

I don't know, I will definitely keep you in the loop though and if you have any suggestions on how to work that in, please share below!

As always friends, hope your Sunday is going great and getting some much needed R&R before work begins tomorrow for those of you on a M-F schedule..... Until next time... STEEM ON!


Wanna check out some of my recent posts?

Click on the thumbnail images below

   


Sort:  

@j-vo WOW #LOVE it , these are Awesome Pics
Looks like professional photographer
these are actually making by scratch if im not wrong :)
keep it up.

i just followed you to see your more articles like this in the #Future
YOU JUST MADE MY DAY BUDDY
#BIG #LOVE #FROM #PAK.
Cheers :)
have a great day Dear :)

THANK YOU

This sounds like an ambitious project - it reminds me of the hyper-realistic large scale paintings of Chuck Close.

I'm sure the boy is going to love it and it's a great chance for you to practice some new techniques, too.

Yes! I am super excited - I finally got the doors here - now I gotta sand and fill and flat coat! The hubby is going to build me a jig to hold all the panels together! Looks like we will be getting started next weekend! Thanks for stopping by @winstonalden!!

Sounds like a fun family project. Is your husband a carpenter?

He is kind of a dude of all trades lol - he did work in construction and wood flooring, etc in his younger years. We recently got my grandfather's craftsman bench and all of his equipment, so it should go pretty smoothly! :) It is one of the first large scale paintings I have done in several years, so I am excited for sure!

Whoa, this shall be a huge project, but I am excited to see the process and the finished piece. I'll also be excited to see how you decide to incorporate his name etc. I love doing big scale pieces! Have fun!

wow that definitely sounds like a huge project! But i'm looking forward to seeing how it turns out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68775.79
ETH 3844.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66