✔️Critique the Artist: 🎨 When to Call Yourself an Artist? 💡💭

in #art6 years ago

Let us watch this video and ask these questions to ourselves as "artists"
What does it mean to be a visual artist?

Are you an enriched art practicioner? Ask yourself the following questions.

💡DO I KNOW THE ELEMENTS OF ART?✔️❌❓

💡 DO I KNOW THE PRINCIPLES OF DESIGN?✔️❌❓

💡 DO I APPLY AT LEAST A FEW ART TECHNIQUES WHEN DRAWING?✔️❌❓

💡 COULD I GIVE TIPS TO OTHERS OR TEACH OTHERS ART?✔️❌❓

💡 DO I KNOW ART THEORIES AND APPLY AT LEAST ONE WHEN I CREATE MY CONCEPTS?✔️❌❓

💡 DO I HAVE A COLLECTION OF ARTWORKS EITHER SOFT COPIES OR ACTUAL ARTWORKS GOOD ENOUGH FOR A PORTFOLIO?✔️❌❓

💡 HAVE PEOPLE COMMISSIONED ME TO CREATE ART FOR THEM? ✔️❌❓

💡HAVE I MASTERED A CERTAIN MEDIUM?✔️❌❓

💡DO I KNOW HOW TO USE A VARIETY OF MEDIUMS?✔️❌❓

💡 AM I IN THE KNOW OF THE HISTORY OF ART CULTURALLY AND OF ART MASTERS IN THE PAST? ✔️❌❓

💡 DO I HAVE A CERTAIN STYLE OF ART?✔️❌❓

💡 AM I CONFIDENT WITH HOW I MAKE MY ART? ✔️❌❓

💡 CAN I DRAW ANYTHING I WANT TO DRAW WITHOUT HESITATIONS AND DOUBTS? ✔️❌❓

💡 HAVE PEOPLE COMPLIMENTED OR CRITIQUED MY ART YET? ✔️❌❓

💡CAN I DRAW CONFIDENTLY FREE HAND? ✔️❌❓

If you can't answer a yes to these, maybe it's a step to work on it.

🎨 WATCH AND OBSERVE

Think about it...

You don't go to a taylor to stitch a wound, and say "hey it's just a stitch".

I can cook but I don't call myself a "chef" and say I just cooked something nice.

You can change the tires of a car but that doesn't make you a mechanic.

To be an artist, you must know A LOT, MOSTLY EVERYTHING you can about art, and experience with art making too.

Anyone who is professional is expected to know everything as it is a specialization

Sometimes you need to back your knowledge up with the right learning materials, books, theories, you need to master your medium, practice skill and scope. And continuous learning and improving yourself, people may appreciate your art but overpricing when you're clearly still developing is like stealing from customers, then again, underpricing is wrong.
Your art has to be worth it and then price right.

About the Skit


Here are some points you need to see:

✔️Okay, in the skit Raph says "Katie you're a beginner and that's fine"
But can she sell art yet?

  • maybe if there's someone who wants to buy it then yes she can but to price it ridiculously high as $3000? And being a beginner, she should listen to raph.

  • There's nothing wrong with having basic art and simple art as a beginner, you are still learning. We all start as beginners and the learning process does not end. Be humble enough to accept critique and set standards high because art practice is broad and there is a high competition in the industry.

✔️ Disregarding the rule of thirds

  • Taking rules for granted is what some people tend to do with many art forms.

Art rules and techniques must be learned, even if you are self taught it doesn't matter really, as long as you learn it, apply it and create art effectively.
Some art techniques such as:

  1. Crosshatch
  2. Negative drawing
  3. Dark to light - light to dark
  4. Tinting and shading

In katies case it was photography, just randomly took a shot.

In the skit Katie just disregarded the rule of thirds which is an example of a lack of effort and technique.

✔️ Not listening to Raph

  • Okay throughout, they were offended and didn't take his advise. That maybe be the worst ever.

Not considering other's opinion and perspective is being blind to whatever you might be doing wrong or not being open to what you could do better

Artist's are encouraged to be better with the help of other artists.

This Video is about

✔️ Humility and Listening
✔️ Making an effort to improve your Art and skills

This is not intended to discourage beginners in art. Art is an expression yes and you cannot put limits to that.

But do not forget standards and rules
We live in a world with balance, rules are important so we must not take them lightly. Artists can be creative but never destroy the beauty of order and rules.

COMPARE AND CONTRAST

Screenshot_20180604-104711~2.png
I have been following this artist on instagram for some time and definitely I can call him an artist.
People know he is good and "exceptional" maybe, in the skit, Katie was comforted by the people saying she's a good artist even if in reality she was just a beginner, a hobbyist.

People need to see the difference between hard work and creating a beautiful output and being supportive to a growing artist or art practicioner who makes good art but needs more improvements.

Another extremely talented painters I know is Jess Wathen

I took a screenshot of his facebook page and look at how marvellous these works are and the price is definitely worth it.
Screenshot_20180604-105908~2.png
Jess Wathen creates acrylic paintings in such a fine and graceful way that it looks like a digital painting.

So which artwork would you pay $3000 dollars for?

Screenshot_20180604-141541~2.png
Visit JESS WATHEN'S fb page - Click here

Next

DEVELOPING YOURSELF UNTIL YOU REACH YOUR FULL POTENTIAL

A friend of mine named ash as she likes to be called, she once told me

"even if the critique I got hurt me, it pushed me to even work harder"


Do you think she achieved it? Yes!

Screenshot_20180604-111403~2.png
You can follow her on instagram if you like and see how hee journey as an artist is going.

If we observe, her 2016 photo is so much better than 2015. And of course she has taught me and offered me a lot of tips and I definitely appreciate her kindness and opinion.

Here's another beautiful artwork by

pinaypencilart - Click here to be directed to her Instagram page

Screenshot_20180604-111353~2.png
She used graphite pencils and charcoal for this one but truly, even I am amazed at how realistic those eyes are! And using black and white to me is just as challenging.

Her youtube video on drawing the owl

Her technique was dark to light since she shaded the paper initially with a darker hue.

We all strive to become better and compete

It's true, all artists want to draw better for two reasons:
✔️ Self expression
✔️ Business

The first, is to satisfy oneself, to express emotions and ideals. Draw dreams and appreciate art as something that makes oneself happy

Second, to make it a form of job. Make art and sell art.

Whether reasons one or two, we all look up to someone who we think creates art in a way we love most.
The technique and final outcome. And we imitate this and look up to them.

Art Heroes

There's been a trend recently when an artist creates a collage of one of his artworks at the center and surrounded by his or her favorite artists.
Let me show two of my artist friends who have expressed their admiration for other artists they look up to

Screenshot_20180604-104446~2.png

  • Artist Justine here expressed his appreciation for the masters he looks up to.
    A source of inspiration and those of which who will boost your creativity.

Justine is a very talented and skilled artist! He is part of the national group of artist in the Philippines called Guhit Pinas.
Many members from that art group and community have praised him for his exceptional and beautiful pieces.

Screenshot_20180604-104905~2.png

  • Meenakshi Bisariya
    Meenakshi creates digital art with a cartoony and vibrant color effects. She has quite a following already on instagram and her delightful pieces are worth looking at.

I hope everyone understands what visual arts is and how people must put effort in making art and must back it up with knowledge and technique. Knowing a little and drawing well is not enough, you must, in a way, BE AN EXPERT and know art and make the best art that you can.

The process is always a growth to be achieved. We look at our art and be happy with it, but looking back again, we see flaws and things we can correct.

You can be an artist if you are Mastering art already, if you are passed the beginner zone and have built a good reputation of making good art. Of course people will tell you that.

Being a professional in art making can aslo mean you are being paid, hired and asked to do art projects, commissions, workshops, exhibits and the like.

The process is long and if you don't practice, you cannot get there. There's no instant magic trick to calling yourself an artist.

So...

✔️ Study
✔️ Practice
✔️ Make good art
✔️ Repeat

ARE YOU AN ARTIST?

zeus_by_jyacini.jpg
Art by @jacinta.sevilla
Zeus the blind owl: Coloredpencils

Am I an artist?
In my opinion I think so, I call myself a visual art practicioner. Although I strongly believe I should attend more workshops and classes to further enhance my skills.

Don't_let_anyone_tell_you_you_can't_draw_by_jyacini.jpg
Before I would not call myself an artist, I just said I make art but I'm not that good yet.

Even at art school, I couldn't say I was because I was still elarning how to draw good and learn the concept of art making.
basic_shapes_by_jyacini.jpg
Today, I've improved and I'm exploring more mediums and art styles and mastering my specialty with dry media.

So I think it's safe to call myself one.
I am still and always be finding ways to improve.
IMG_20180519_223506_381.jpg
Art by @jacinta.sevilla
General Okoye: oil pastels on felt paper

A beginner can call himself an artist just as long as he wants to improve and is improving. I guess we are all artists but there's a difference when you add in professional.

IMG_20180602_073545_167.jpg
Me and my Artwork: Waling Waling
Ugnayan Art Exhibit - Artistic Impressions of Mindanao life
Abreeza Mall, Davai City, Philippines
May 07, 2018

What I've listed above is what I think makes a good artist, not a fact, just my opinion based on experience and insights being in the art industry. And if you want to be an artist, you need to be humble and never give up. Draw everyday and think about everything you can improve.
The video, as well, is not meant to discourage anyone but to open people's eyes to some people who are too proud to not listen to other's opinions.

Art is a passion and we all do it to make ourselves happy ✔️
And making money out if it, you have to keep up with the giants so to speak. ✔️✔️✔️
Don't be like katie.

THANK YOU!

all comments
Suggestions and critique is accepted.

Artist_by_jyacini.jpg

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo
@deemarshall

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
20180411_225249.gif
received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189
quick_sketch_by_jyacini.jpg

Sort:  

Great community @jacinta.sevilla and best of luck for future

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criterias for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Thankyou for sharing a nice post. You’re right. Art is passion. You have to do a work with all your heart. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 52 SBD worth and should receive 294 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @jacinta.sevilla, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87