Here is my latest still life (Autumn Still Life #2) painting with its unraveling development.

in #art6 years ago

Here is my latest still life (Autumn Still Life #2) painting with its unraveling development.


Autumn Still Life #2.jpg

Autumn Still Life #2
16" x 20"
Oil on canvas


Greetings fellow Steemians!,

As I do realize that it has been quite some time now since I last posted an intensive process revealing blog post on my work, now I thought it would be good time to share my latest painting and discuss its lengthy development.

I admit that this painting took waaaayy longer than planned. I felt that I was completely absorbed in its completion and was dead set on finishing it, so here it goes!


Autumn Still Life #2 1.jpg

(Here is my setup in real life)


Using some standard craft paper, as usual I began with an initial block in drawing with charcoal in which eventually would be transferred onto the painting surface and sealed with ink.

Autumn Still Life #2 2.jpg


Now that I sealed in the transfer drawing with ink on the blank white canvas surface, I then started to mass in the shadows with thinned burnt umber.

Autumn Still Life #2 3.jpg


Using mixtures of venetian red, ultramarine blue and titanium white, I then mixed several value strings ranging from the red to blue, and then mixing increasing piles of lighter value each from those separate piles. I used these strings to lay in the initial pass of the background.

Autumn Still Life #2 4.jpg


I then proceeded the same way towards the ground plane and foreground.

Autumn Still Life #2 5.jpg


I found laying in the pumpkin to be especially difficult. Not only was I simultaneously refining the drawing, but I also was attempting to accurately capture its chroma. This object I found to have taken up most of the time, not necessarily because of its size in relation to the rest of the picture.

Autumn Still Life #2 6.jpg


The onion and the corn in the background I decided to work on next. Logically, I chose to save refining the corn til the end of the painting.

Autumn Still Life #2 7.jpg


The second onion behind the bowl and the bowl itself was next.

Autumn Still Life #2 8.jpg


Now going back to the pumpkin, progressively from right to left I then started the second pass. Some sections of the painting were particularly “thirsty” so some sections were painted even a third time before moving on. Once sections “decided” to refrain from sinking in, I then could accurately judge colors and values adjacent to what was previously painted.

Autumn Still Life #2 9.jpg


Autumn Still Life #2 10.jpg


Autumn Still Life #2 11.jpg


Now that I am near the end of the painting, I then finished up the foreground’s edges and decided to rework the cast shadows.

Autumn Still Life #2 12.jpg


Autumn Still Life #2 13.jpg


..aaannd it's finished!

Autumn Still Life #2.jpg


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

I think now that I'm in the autumn of my life, and I'm getting a chance of having an overview and looking at the shape of how things happen, when things happen, why things happen, I think it was fitting that I spent most of my early career doing mask work, because I just don't think I was that comfortable in my own skin. @jameszenartist following and upvoted

@henrysblog Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

great artwork my friend. Please continue posting a valuable like this and I definitely see you being successful on this community in the near future. Great post

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :) I can assure you that there will be plenty more where this came from.

Wonderful step-by-step presentation of your painting proces. And painting looks just as photo, but better.

Thank you :)

Interesting all the steps that must be followed to get a job so well achieved, especially the details of the bowl that looks very real. Congratulations!

Thank you, I really appreciate that :)

Good painting and the manufacturing process require more patience

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @jameszenartist.

This post has received a $13.33 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @jameszenartist.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

ava getup.png

You got a 100.00% upvote from @getup


Want to promote your posts too? Send at least 0.003 STEEM DOLLAR or STEEM to @getup with the post link as the memo and receive a upvote! More profits? Delegate some SteemPower to @getup - Daily Reward (STEEM DOLLAR)
1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, custom amount

► ► For Resteem to over 2500 follower + Upvote from @getup ◄ ◄
send 0.200 SBD with the post link as the memo.



U5ds6MjTfaESpQgTn2mRPWnvno7KYVF.gif

This post has received a 7.39% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @jameszenartist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62