I Am Sensing a New Artistic Direction!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

I Am Sensing a New Artistic Direction!


Portrait of Ivan Shishkin by Ivan Kramskoy


Greetings fellow Steemians!,

I’m not sure exactly how this is going to sound, so in this post I’ll do the best I can to articulate what has been on my mind as descriptive as possible.

I’ll refrain to the best of my abilities to keep my random and wild tangents to the bare minimum.


I’ve been doing a lot of deep introspection these days in relation to my artistic direction. Not so much as to the messages or expression as a whole, although that is included but for the most part in a technical and aesthetic sense in relationship to what I’ve been previously taught during my artistic education.

As some people might have seen before I have been heavily influenced and inspired from Classical Russian work.

While there has been plenty of work from multiple lineages that continue to fuel me, for the most part I have found that drawings and paintings from a Russian origin seem to continue to pull me in deeper at an increasing rate!


I can’t remember precisely when my awareness of this issue began, although I can recollect a few intensely contemplative instances tugging deep at my heartstrings way back even as far as right before I moved back to Oregon (summer 2016).


While I am grateful for what I have already learned, I am also sensing that what I have been wanting to achieve, or to put more accurately the knowledge and tools needed to push myself further hasn’t been gained. And while I’m confident in that I have learned enough to be able to pinpoint my own strengths and weaknesses, I realize that I just need to stop looking for answers in places that I know deep down aren’t there.


I know that I am approaching personally uncharted territory, and I do honestly feel brave enough in taking those steps forward, but I guess I’m just going to have to accept the fact that no matter what, there will be mistakes that are going to be made. Mistakes are simply a natural part of what it takes in order to move forward.


Of course if I had the opportunity and the financial requirements I’d further my atelier training education in a heartbeat.

As I don’t foresee that occurring anytime soon I’ve also been considering online options (online ateliers for example) along with a multitude of other written online resources.

At this point I’m not sure as to how I’ll be able to obtain the kind of education/skill I want or how this direction will take shape in the future, but I do know for sure that I’m going to do whatever it takes to be able to make this happen!

While I have her in mind, here is one of my favorite living Russian artists I have been idolizing these days. Her name is Ksenya Istomina and she is from the Russian Artist Imperial Academy.

I can’t seem to get enough of her work!



Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

You got a 5.38% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @jameszenartist!

You got a 6.22% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 7.98% upvote from @edensgarden courtesy of @jameszenartist!

You got a 2.51% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @jameszenartist! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 13.43% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @jameszenartist! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Congratulations, your post received 41.10% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @jameszenartist! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

This post has received a 19.19% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @jameszenartist. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You got a 2.67% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You have been defended with a 11.76% upvote!
I was summoned by @jameszenartist.

You got a 6.95% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94