My Latest Still Life Painting ("The Brass Bell") and its Development.

in #art6 years ago

My Latest Still Life Painting ("The Brass Bell") and its Development.


The Brass Bell.jpg

The Brass Bell
8" x 10"
Oil on birch
2018


Greetings fellow Steemians!

In this post I thought I’d share and discuss my latest still life painting along with its creative unfolding process.

But before I do, I’d like to take a moment to point out and express my appreciation for this recently obtained painting medium I’ve been wanting to work with. This is officially the first painting I finished using this medium and I thought I’d give a little review.


34636651_10217289502528495_869975922504105984_n.jpg

I have to say that I enjoyed using it a hell of a lot more than I thought I would!
For one thing it took care of the gloss issue that was bugging me. There is still some gloss of course, but it isn't overpowering.

What's really cool about it is that it makes everything so even! No more uneven patches! And if you need to rework an area, there's no problem as you can just oil out with the stuff the next day as the painting is already dry to the touch :)


So of course as I usually do, I began with a transfer drawing of the bell and sealed it with ink.

The thought did cross my mind that I usually start with a pre toned surface, either with raw or burnt umber, but with considering this new medium I was trying out (as it speeds up drying time like maroger) I thought I’d aim towards just getting the whole surface covered and i’ll be ready to go over it again on the second pass the following day.


The Brass Bell1.jpg


As the cast shadow of the bell was the darkest valued shape of the painting, I then began massing the shape in with burnt umber and a little ultramarine blue.


The Brass Bell2.jpg


Then starting from the top and working my way down, I then began to work on the edges of the background prepping myself towards working on the bell. Thinking in this manner assisted in achieving greater edge control.


The Brass Bell3.jpg


Then starting from the outside and working inwards, from top to bottom I then started to render form across the bell.


The Brass Bell4.jpg


After the initial pass on the bell, I then began to expand outwards and work on the rest of the background.


The Brass Bell5.jpg


At this stage I then decided to adjust the edges of the cast shadow by extending the darker midtones outwards.

The Brass Bell6.jpg


Working outwards from the shadow, I then decided to rework the whole of the background by compressing the overall value scheme. I really wanted to emphasize the concept of raking light.

The Brass Bell7.jpg


The Brass Bell8.jpg


Going back to the bell for the last time, I then readjusted the values/forms, saving the opaque lights lor last.

The Brass Bell9.jpg


..Aaannd it's finished!!

The Brass Bell.jpg


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Very realistic bell! Brilliant work!
(I have new drawings. I hope you look at them:)

Thank you so much! :)

Resteemed your post over 2,485+ followers! As Of My Free Resteem Service. Enjoy my free service.

You got a 2.11% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99