Black & White Lion Painting. Stare Of The Boss

in #art5 years ago

Before leaving on my Asia tour in December last year I painted 2 black and while (mostly) lions. They turned out really well. Today I will show you one of them and you can judge by yourself.

lion b&w 1 logo center detail.jpg
You want to have respect as a boss? Look like him! The central detail of my 24x36 inches oil on canvas painting

I never painted black and white until last year and I start to like the limited palette more and more. I think that I will continue experimenting with it. The mostly black and white palette makes the other colors stand out so much more, because of their scarcity in the overall image.

You can see that clearly in the eyes of the lion.

lion b&w 1 logo.jpg

And mind you, there are shades of blue and brown in the lions mane too, they are just very subtle so not so easily caught by the eye, and obviously even harder to see on a photograph

.hanes lions 3 left.jpg
Here you have a better idea of the size.

I was also super happy about the execution speed. I painted the whole thing in less than 3 days. Actually both of them:)

I hope you liked my B&W lion!

I can't wait to show you the second one next time!

May you day be filled with colors :)

Much Love,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

!! you are beautiful.jpg

Sort:  

He indeed looks like he can gain respect very quickly :) but honestly, wouldn't like to have a boss like this :) I would be scared to go to the office and probably stay at home :)

3 days for such a big and complicated canvas sounds like a great job! And it's not only big and complicated but you did a great job. The execution is very nice. I don't miss any other colors there. I like the blue shades that you used but for the rest.. it's good as it is :)

Have fun on your Asian adventure! :)

Thank you kindly for your fabulous comment dear @delishtreats! May you have a fantastic day! 🙏🙏

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

WOW - such TALENT. This is incredible. I definitely like the limited use of color. I looked to see if you used any color on the mouth and it does look like you added the same shades of yellow. I would have thought a red but I think the gentle yellow looks better.

Thanks so much @goldkey ! Really happy you liked it. Can’t wait to show you the second one 🙌🏻🙏


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Beautiful!

The lion awake...!
Beautiful eyes it has 🙏🏼

I have no talent in the artistic field and such astounding works are almost like magic to me!

I especially like the upper snout(?) on this thing and the lines framing it.

Very nice work!

The limited pallet increases the impact of your excellent animal portrait of the lion.

Fierce tiger with very wise yet ferocious eyes ! A great painting, @jankasparec :) I really like how you've kept the main palette almost monochromatic since it really makes the gaze pop out of the canvas :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99