Swimming for fun?

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When i was 10 years old my mom had me take swim lessons. It was tough but i managed to learn. I wasn't at all a strong swimmer by any means yet but i could hold my own and was good enough to join the pre team! I had never been a part of a team before so i was stoked. As i got older the goal became to get faster. Then as i got older the goal was to become an All-American and swim in college. Then came college which i wasn't prepared for at all. I didn't have any real goals i wanted to achieve with my swimming anymore. I quit the sport, quit school and joined the US NAVY to take a break from the two. Little did i know the that the Navy was its own education. And it was there that i was drawn back into the swimming world only with a real sense of purpose this time. I became a SAR (Search and rescue) swimmer. My new purpose for swimming was so that others may live. After the Navy i went back to school and again found my way back to the pool only this time i was swimming for my own health. It was then i started thinking to myself, "self, do you ever just swim for fun?" I had forgotten how much fun the water could be before i started this long relationship with it. I've been recently swimming again and now i don't have to take it as seriously anymore. It feels good when you just do something for the fuck of it. Remember why you started something and always remember to have fun while doing it. It took me too long to realize that.
IMG_20180520_002057.jpg

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Little did i know the that the Navy was it's own education.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

Oh! Thank you for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58