When Darkness Asked the Light To Dance

in #art5 years ago (edited)

whendarknessaskedthelighttodance.jpg
'When Darkness Asked the Light To Dance, 2011, acrylics on 16" x 20" gallery wrapped canvas.


"…so eventually I stopped fighting the darkness, and simply turned on the light…"

'When Darkness Asked the Light To Dance' is one of only a handful of paintings which were completed in the course of just a couple of days and is also a rarity in being solely acrylics rather than mixed media.

This painting has been in my private collection since I created it in 2011. It has always fascinated and delighted me with its powerful message, its dynamic interplay and the resonance it has for me and my own particular story. For a long time, I felt that I could never part with it because it feels so deeply personal. However, as I consider packing this piece away to go into storage, I feel compelled to offer it out to the world. I feel that somebody out there is waiting to rehome 'Darkness' and be encouraged and uplifted by its light. And so I am releasing it with love in my heart and a deep sense of gratitude for its existence. With all the letting go I'm doing right now, it feels right, like exhaling after holding my breath on this brush baby for so many years.


Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 19.25.43.png


If 'When Darkness Asked the Light To Dance' is yours, please contact me to purchase using Steem - [email protected] - or visit my store on Etsy if to invest in this artwork using fiat currency of any denomination.


whendarknessaskedthelighttodance.jpg
Detail from 'When Darkness Asked the Light To Dance'


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative, and radically unschooling Mama, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.


With love,

Jay x

20180225_122816.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @jaytaylor, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you! I really appreciate your support, @creativecrypto. I'll start following you and look forward to finding out more about your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82