Creating childhood memories- part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

What is your special childhood memorie?
I‘m sure I won’t be the only one who unfortunately can’t remember most of his early years.
But independently of the age there are some things that stay in our mind forever. Like your best kindergarten friend, a trip where your grandparents took you over the weekend, or your favorite meal that only your mother was able to cook.

For me as a kid I never wanted to waste my time in front of a television, so I spent a lot of time reading books, or more like looking through the lovely colored pictures.
Inspired by the fantasy of stories like „The Little Prince“ or „The Very Hungry Caterpillar“, I started to draw my own fantasy worlds throughout my school time, to the displease of my teachers :D

After school, the motivation to draw disappeared somewhere... but now thanks to Steemit it suddenly came back and flooded my mind with a ton of ideas!
So to come straight to the point: I’m going to create my own book dedicated to the stories that accompanied my childhood and I want to share my progress with you.

Where to start?
I think everyone knows the feeling of staring at a plank page and not knowing where to start. It’s the same for drawing and writing. But if you combine those two things it only becomes worse!
So I just grabbed a blank paper and began to doodle in different styles and that led me to my first beautiful little drawing:

Kristall.jpg

Scanned and colored in photoshop I was very happy with the outcome!
I liked the idea of having many little islands, with different themes and so I kept on drawing.

Fabrikinsel.jpg

Apfelinsel.jpg

The foundation is laid! I think I will go on with that style. Now the second part will be to write the story. What I can reveal though, is that it’ll become dark and scary because I find it more thrilling to read and more fun to draw!

I hope you like it so far! What is your opinion?
Take care :)

Sort:  

uvpted :) the way you fill the dark parts is nice.. its good you came back to drawing, best of luck!

Thanks a lot :) I'll hope it will turn out well :D best of luck too!

WOW. I am just totally thrilled by your pictures, the idea of writing a book and your own style which you put in every single article. Jb-design rocks :) Keep on! I am soooo looking forward to read more of you!

Hey thanks so much! Feals good to hear such word, you motivate me to keep on! Have a nice day!

This one is close to my own heart. I was a huge reader growing up and created intricate fantasy worlds. I spent a lot of time drawing maps of my worlds. That love of creating an imaginary world has never left me - it is a big part of why I enjoy being a Dungeon Master/Dungeons and Dragons.

I love your little floating islands. Love the crosshatch pen style. Love the idea of a kids book about these floating islands and love that it is going to get dark. Geez I love everything about this!

Resteemed and I am following you now - can't wait for the next installment! Awesome post. You will do great here - just keep making good content like this and the rest will fall in place. PS - if you haven't already, check out the Minnow Support Project and the PAL server on Discord Chat - look me up there, I am @gnashster.

So cool!
We have done treasure hunting and diamond hunting......so I thought maybe you had done same...from looking at your diamond island.
But you are mining your diamonds in art.
Very cool, I like it!

Thanks for reading and your comment :) I've done treasure hunting for my 6. birthday party, dressed as pirates haha :D

Really like your style and am looking forward to see more :-)

I like the floating islands. I can't draw but I do a lot of digital art with Bryce. In the program there is a floating terrain you can use and I often build on it. I just like the whole sci-fi feel of it. Your drawings are great. You've got a great eye for details. Thanks for sharing.

Nice and original! It's something we're always be looking for!

I didn't have a good childhood, can't remember much before I was 14, :)

Dark and scary is 100% the way to go. Thanks for sharing. Good luck

Damn @jb-design, you're creative. The drawings look so neat. Thats something what my art lacks lol. Welldone! You got my upvote!

Thank you so much! Followed you!
I like your drawings aswell, i'm not as good as you in drawing people and faces ;)

I appreciate it man. I will look forward to your future post. Keep posting! :) EDIT: and followed!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78