How to draw little surreal islands. Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This is my first drawing tutorial on how to draw little surreal islands, like the one below. Enjoy!


This is the first part of three and at the end you are going to know, how to create a surreal handdrawn scene all by yourself!
In my previous posts I gave you a little insight in my book project, unfortunately I had no time to carry on with it until now
Today I want to use the opportunity to show you, how I create my drawings step by step, so you can easily follow along

This will be the end result

Frog_Color_72.jpg

Step 1: draw the outline

The very first step is always to have a rough idea what you want to draw, or in this case what topic your little island is about. I want to end up with a swamp like scenery, so I've choosen a toad to sit on top of my island.

First I draw the outlines very rough and light with a soft pencil. Then I try to trace the sketch with one fine line. For the islands just draw a little mountain upside down and add a spiky grasslayer on top of it.

Frog_1_1.jpg

Step 2: Patterns!

For the stone/ dirt like texture I use easy crosshatch patterns. Important is that you try to draw them very clean. Take your time to get used to it! Add some first shadows too.

Frog_2_1.jpg

Step 3: dark outline

For the most important lines that are creating a contrast to the rest of the picture I use a thicker fineliner.
Now you are ready for the last details.

Frog_3_1.jpg

Step 4: shadows and details

This is in my opinion the most important step and makes the difference between a boring and an interesting picture: the shadows and details.
Shadows are so important because they add a 3-dimensional feeling to your drawing. For the shadows I use a thicker fineliner and add another layer of lines in the opposite direction to the already exsisting lines. Also try to imagine a surce of light, that your shadows are throughout on the same site.

In the end I added a few flies and dots, to make the texture of the toad more interessting.

Frog_4_1.jpg

Step 5: Paint in

The next steps are going to be, how you get your drawing digitaly and to add some color to it.
But that I am going to explain in the next tutorial.

Frog_Color_72.jpg

Materials:

That are the fineliners I use to create my drawings. They are very thin and perfect for detailed drawing.
My favourite sizes reach from 0.05 mm to 0.7 mm!

stifte.jpg

Thank you for your time and share your opinion with me on my first tutorial!

If you like what I do I would love some nice words, a like,

a follow or anything else :)

Have a nice day everyone!


banner.jpg


Sort:  

Great tutorial!

Good job bro! Followed upvoted! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Hey I've added this post to my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you so much Julia! I really feel honored to be picked by you and hope to be able to post more quality content that is worthy your curation! :)

cool drawing. looks so easy but with my amount of talent it is soooo hard

I've featured your art in the most recent contest showcase for the surreal art contest. Thanks for entering!

Thank you @sethlinson :) next time I will create something especially for your contest!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jb-design from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Original forms. There is a mood. It's good. It remains only to improve the technique of execution!

thanks :) It's fairly not my best but you can see how it looks at the end when you look at one of my older posts :)

Over time, you must develop a clear and confident line of the desired thickness. It trains with time.

What a cute little frog. Fun tutorial as well. I found you thanks to @reinhard-schmid and am now following. It's great finding other artists on here, keep up the tutorials.

Thank you so much :) He is an amazing artist!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Great frog 🐸

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73