How To Make Your Own Self Profile (cute) Avatar๐Ÿง’? (Step by Step Process)

in #art โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

So Hello guys, I'm here to share to you , how to create your own avatar. I'ts not that hard to create this, you just need to be attentive and focus on the steps I'm going to show you. So I'm just new in creating digital art/graphic design. I've started last December, so it's almost three months since I've started practicing, since my forte is in traditional design, like what I've said in my introduction (#introducingyourself) I've decided to make this tutorial because I found it fun and I think everyone can follow the process ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š.


make-your-own-avatar.jpg

So Let's Start ๐Ÿ˜Š


STEP 1. Make a Simple Sketch of Yourself in the most Cartoonic and Cutest form ๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜‚.

(since I don't have a pen tablet, I've just drawn it with a paper) โœโœโœ
You can check this sample image as a guide. You can adjust the form of the head depending on the shape of your head (it maybe round,square,oval,pointed, you'll free to judge it's your face anyways.

anime_face_types.png
http://www.animeoutline.com/how-to-draw-different-styles-of-anime-heads-faces/

So this the final sketch of my avatar (CUTE), drawn from a scratch of my story synopsis that is submitted from yesterday's class. Since I have a square type of face (defined jaw) and slightly thick brows, this is the end result ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜„.

IMG_20180307_112217.jpg

STEP 2. Open your Adobe Illustrator (Adobe Illustrator CC is the version I am using) ๐Ÿ–ฑ๐Ÿ’ป.

(if you don't have one, you can download it in the internet, just be patient in finding legit website)

Click the Menu Bar (File-->New) then set the size of your Image. In my work I've used 700x900 px, i think that's fine for me. Then drag the photo to the software. Or you can just click menu bar (File-->open) then browse the file from your computer)

blog 1.png

STEP 3. Trace the Outline

So the fun starts in tracing the outline, click the Pen Tool (shortcut key (p)) this tool is one of the most useful and well known tool of a graphic artist and designer ๐Ÿ–ฅ๐Ÿ’ป.

Before anything else, I'll give you a quick brief tutorial how to use the pen tool ๐Ÿ˜‰โœโœ’.

First, disable the fill by clicking this option (located in the bottom left corner) So that when you use Pen tool it won't have a fill, meaning only the stroke will remain.

blog 5.png

Then you can start making point to create a shape or pattern๐Ÿ‘.

blog 8.png

So moving on, in creating a curve with Pen tool, if you want to make a curve, make to sure drag the mouse /graphical pen after clicking the point b(second point). check this example.

blog 9.png

You're doing good guys, take note, the movement of a Pen Tool is reversed way. If you drag your mouse/pen downward, the curve will go upward, vice versa๐Ÿ”ƒ.

blog 7.png

Then if you want adjust the angle of the curve just try drag the mouse/pen on left side or right side, depending on your picture reference.

blog 6.png

I think you already get the logic of it ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ, I know you're all smart. So yeah, back to Step 3. Just remember how use the Pen Tool you may be confused a little bit, but you'll get used to it soon. It takes practice and patience ๐Ÿ‘. Before tracing make a separate layer of your photo reference and lock it ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ”’,so that it won't bother you while tracing. Located at upper right area.

blog 39.png

blog 40.png

I think we're good to trace.

trace! trace! trace! ๐Ÿ˜„

blog 10.png

Almost done tracing ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

blog 11.png

So there are things that can't be done by a stroke in Pen tool just like in the brows and eye detail, so we need to use fill. In order to use fill, just disable the stroke and put a fill on your Pen tool

blog 13.png

Then trace the outline just like what you are doing with strokes earlier โœ’๐Ÿ–‹.

blog 14.png

But as you can observe ๐Ÿค”, the outline is covered by the fill and you won't be able to trace it precisely. So what you are going to do is click the Selection tool (shortcut key (v)) and click the fill you are working with, then an option will appear.๐Ÿค—

blog 16.png

After that change the opacity from 100 to 30-20%, depending on the visibility of your outline ๐Ÿค“๐Ÿค“๐Ÿค“.

blog 17.png

You can also use Smooth tool to smoothen things up.

blog 36.png

Just click the points you think is kinda awkward and ugly, to smoothen. And you can change the Opacity of the fill to 100% after getting the fill you wanna achieve ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿค—.

blog 18.png

STEP 4. Adding Colors ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐ŸŽจ๐ŸŽจ

So I'll start with the eye. Just click the Ellipse toll for the shape eye and used pen tool for other detail.

blog 38.png

So if you are done with the outline, you can just hide the layer where you put the photo reference. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

blog 24.png

So here's the tricky and fun part ๐Ÿ˜ถ๐Ÿ˜ฑ. Make a fill (make sure to enclose it properly), then choose a color fill that you want on your skin tone. Then make sure that the fill is exceed the outline.

blog 25.png

Then press (ctrl+a) to select all strokes and shape fill.

blog 26.png

Then click the Shape Builder tool or press shortcut key (shift+m). Hope you're still following ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ‘Œ.

blog 42.png

After pressing the Shape Builder tool or (shift+m), it should look like this. ๐Ÿ‘‡

blog 27.png

Then press (alt) just hold it, and click(left) the the area that overlaps and area you don't want to be filled with color.

blog 43.png

blog 28.png

(Make sure that your lines (strokes) are interconnected to each other so that it will enclose properly, because if not, there's a tendency that the shape builder tool wont be able to divide the shape because the lines are not connected to each other. ) ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

After selecting the areas you don't want to be colored. Click outside work sheet area, then press (V) to select the fill (the color of the skin)

blog 29.png

You wont able to see the eyes, because the shape fill is overlapping or it is above your outline. So what you are going to do is, after selecting the shape fill (by Selection tool (v)) press the key (ctrl+shift+[) to put the Shape fill to the back, it's just about the the positioning your layer guys. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

Check this out. ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡

blog 30.png

So we're almost done. You're doing a progress, just follow the steps I am showing. ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿค—

Next, adding some color the hair, brows, shirt, and other details. (Same process to add color, just like what I've showed you earlier on adding skin tone color to your avatar) ๐Ÿง’๐Ÿ–๐Ÿ‘•

(a recap)

blog 44.png

STEP 5. Adding Shadows ๐ŸŒ’๐ŸŒ“๐ŸŒ”

So after you're done adding color to your work, we need to add a little bit of shadows to give some depth. Just choose a darker color tone for your shadow. ๐ŸŒ‘

Double click the fill, a option will pop up then choose a darker shade for your shadow. (Tip, don't get to dark and too soft with your shadow, it should be balance. โš–

blog 45.png

blog 46.png

then, start adding shadow (decide carefully where the light source is located so that your shadow will be in right area.


check this guide guys. ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡

4a2f3704d1b14b6120c2d51b96cdc15f.jpg

https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/571746115174988839/

Adding some shadow in the neck, face, ear. (As you can see I don't add to much shadows and make it minimal, since our work is in not that detailed and for it to retain it's simplicity. )๐Ÿ‘Œ

blog 47.png

blog 48.png

And adding some shadow at the back of our character. ๐Ÿง’๐ŸŒ“

blog 49.png

STEP 6. Adding Background ๐Ÿ”

So we don't want to overdo our work, so I've just created a plane rectangle at put behind it behind the back.

blog 50.png

(We're very near at the end of the tunnel ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ˜Ž)

STEP 7. Save Your Work ๐Ÿ–ฅ๐Ÿ’พ

So this is the last step of this tutorial, I hope you had followed every process I've made ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜. So if you want to save your file in A.I file (your work that is editable, which you can go back to if you want to edit or add something)
Just press (ctrl+s) then make a title of your A.I file and save. And if you want to save it in JPEG (IMAGE FORM), just press (ctrl+alt+shift+s) gotta familiarize that shortcut key ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…. After that a option will pop up.

blog 51.png

here are the color palette I've used in my work: ๐ŸŽจ๐Ÿ–๐Ÿ–Œ

blog 52.png

After following all of the process, Congratulations! ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ‘ you now have you own (cute)๐Ÿ˜„ profile avatar.

FINAL OUTPUT.png

You may find it confusing and you may hard time creating your own. That's okay, I've experienced that stage to. Just take your time, practice. ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ’ช

One thing to remember, "JUST REST, DON'T QUIT". Have a blessed day. ๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ‘‹

Thanks for reading and visiting my blog. And thanks in advance for following and upvoting ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ‘.

Sort: ย 

Ang cute ng avatar.. I wish i will learn how to use illustrator too.. Soon cguro mpag aaralan pag may sarili na akong PC or laptop.

Thanks ate. Sure I'm willing to teach, I'll be posting another tutorial soon.

"Join us on the SteemGigs steem-based website here. You know; "everyone has something to offer!"
Stay awesome!"

Oh wow that is so amazing and you made it look so easy!

thanks man. I know you can do it by yourself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This is detailed and Exclusive. This is very thoughtful of you plus this is excellent. As an Art Enthusiast, I did have issues working with Adobe Illustrator. But with this walk-through. I do not think it would be a problem anymore.

You almost confused me with the addition of " My Very First Blog Post"... But anyways, this is a very Good Job you have done been your SECOND blog post. You are welcome to the community. Steem On.

Wow, thanks Man. You're the very first person to appreciate this post. I'm pretty overwhelmed with your comment. Sorry for the confusion, I didn't count my introduction as my first blog post. Since I have the thought that it's just only an introduction. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyways Thank you so much.

You are welcome... You can make amendments anyways.

Yeah sure.

Cute profile my dear

Thanks you Sir. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Welcome my friend

Nice tip! I still can't get my grip in using Ai, though. I still trace using Flash. nakasanayan lang. hehe

okay lng yan bro. try mo A.I marami kasi dito pwedeng gawin. practice lng

welcome to steemit especially to steemitachievers @jeuz!! ayay! another bisaya napud haha.. thanks for sharing ur tutorial jeuz..pag naka invest naq at may new loppy nah.. susubukan q talaga gumamit ng adobe ...anyway enjoy steeming here fellow bisaya haha

Wow, salamat kaau gah. your always welcome. don't worry I'l be posting more of adobe software tutorials.

nice tutorial and artwork dude ๐Ÿ˜€ . haven't tried adobe illustrator, I always use adobe photoshop ๐Ÿ˜Š I will try to use that app on some point thanks for the helpful posts.

I'm happy to help dude. Just try Illustrator you. There's a lot of things you can do using this software.

I will try it. when you make it in illustrator, it isnt pixelized it is solid color..

This is so helpful my friend ๐Ÿ˜ I will try this later. Thank you for the easy step by step guide man. Steem on ๐Ÿ‘

Thanks Mikaela. hehe. hoping to see your output soon.

I like it very much. I wanna try it. I am not an artist though. Thank you for this step by step process. It's very informative for us nonartists.

I believe in you can do it. Just follow the steps. best of luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55