Happy Chinese New Year! 春节快乐steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art3 years ago

A9FB24FD07E449F9874B1D85D84F861F.jpeg

This style of painting is from Luang Prabang, Laos, but China is right next door. There is probably a volcanic vent that releases gas and fire from the river making people here from ancient times to believe there was a fire breathing dragon in the water. The lotus represents purity in Buddhism. I often see these types of paintings in temples here and wanted to give this ancient Siamese style of painting a try.

3CABEEBAC8B34C039539D40483BE948E.jpeg

I've been an artist my whole life, but have only been using Procreate on my iPad for a few years. I probably understand the app less than 25%. I only recently figured out how to draw perfect circles and straight lines by pressing another finger on the screen. I would always draw my picture first then worry about the background later, but I used the gradient blur to create this background before I spent all day on the dragon. It made the whole thing turn out better and was a lot easier in the end. Thanks for checking out my Siamese dragon today. Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50