Draw it Again Challenge! #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Helloooo~~ fellow Steemians!

Sorry I've been a bit MIA lately, but life. you know. I have something kind of exciting for you today tho.

The time has come.

I'm hosting my first art challenge/contest.

OMG I know, right?! haha
I'm also giving away 5 SBD to the entry I like best, plus 1 SBD for the 3 runner-ups, so bear with me. Or skip straight down to the "here's what I'm thinking" and then the "rules" part if you don't want to read my rambling. lol.

Bit of back story first:

So, I like to do this thing occasionally, where I go though my old art because

A) it's hilarious since I'm always amazed at how terrible I think my old stuff looks

B) it stirs up memories like crazy, I usually get this strange sensation of being "transported back in time" when I look at older stuff, because more than books or even music, my drawings take me back to the time it was created and I get this sense of who I was at the time and how far I've come, and sometimes even where I drew the thing or who was with me and what I was thinking. It's creepy and awesome.

C) it makes me feel good about myself because I can usually quite confidenty say "I can do so much better now."

Which is why, sometimes, I then redraw the same character and see how far I've come.

It helps that I pretty much keep everything and I even have a few drawings all the way back from when I was like 10. Serioulsy peeps, I recommend you never ever throw your old stuff away, no matter how shit you think it is, because there's nothing more confidence boosting than picking an old drawing and re-draw it a few years later. You really get to see your progress!

Which brings me to the theme of this challenge:

DrawItAgain_med.jpg

Initially, I was just going to post my drawing but then I thought "hey! This could be a cool drawing challenge!", so there you have it.

Here's what I'm thinking:

Dig out an old drawing of yours, preferally from at least 2 years back or more, and re-draw it with your new skill set! Whoop, whoop~~!

You can use any medium you like, traditional or digital; fan-art is also ok as long as it's labeled; it can be characters, landscapes, things, patterns, designs, whatever really. The only must-do in the drawing, is that it very clearly has to be recognisable as a "new version of the old drawing."

Which means you most definitely should also include a photo or a scan of your original version in the post. It doesn't have to be on the same canvas, like I did in mine, but it has to be in the post somewhere, so I can compare them.

I would also love it if you labeled your drawings with the date. It can be approximate if you never date your drawings (bad habit! get out of it!) but I want to know the approximate time gap. ;)

redraw_medium.jpg

As you can see, I like to do this occasionally, which is why I already got an "in-between" version from 2004. I was 14 in 2002 and 16 in 2004.

Geezuz that was a long time ago. holy moly.

Also, I have now officially outed myself as "one of those who grew up with Manga and Anime and drew nothing else for an embarrasingly long time."

yeaaah…. that happened. And my drawings definitely still bear the influence of that. It's not "bad" exactly, it's just that, as a growing artist, one really shouldn't strive to copy a specific style rather than drawing lots of different things because it limits you like crazy and you never actually learn how to draw "properly" because the proportions are already massively caricaturised.

ANYWHOOOOO~~~ I hope you enjoy this anyway. I always get a kick out of seeing what I can come up with when I re-draw an old sketch. Sometimes it sucks, but sometimes it's pretty cool.
I think it turned out ok. I still can't draw feet and shoes. ugh.

I had to hange her hairstyle because… omg… late 90s, early 2000s much? with the fringe and the weird spikeyness going on in the back? What WAS I thinking? shivers ~

Oh wait, that's right, I was 14. Nevermind.

MOVING ON

I am now passing the torch to you wonderful peeps!! Go forth and dig out those crappy old sketches and drawings that haven't seen the light of day in the last decade! (or less, of course, whatever you got lying around)

ze Rules ~

  • The usual: Upvote & Resteem this post~
  • Dig out an old drawing of yours & redraw with your current skillset!
  • Indicate the dates of both your drawings, if you don't have the exact one for the old one, indicate roughly which year it was drawn.
  • The "old drawing" has to be at least a year old, but preferably 2 or more since the effect will be greater.
  • use #drawitagain in one of your tags, doesn't have to be the first one.
  • Make a post with your entry and put the link (and thumbnail) in the comments so I can find it paleease!
  • some adjustments in pose, clothing colours and composition are cool but it should very clearly be the same character / thing as in your old drawing. It needs to be recognisable ;)
  • Any medium you want, traditional or digital, and it doesn't have to be a full on illustration, you can do a sketch too. It's about seeing your progress and having fun :D
  • You have to have both the old and the new drawing in your post, otherwise what's the point? lol. And add a little backstory, if there is one. just make it fun ;)
  • Fan art is fine too, but label it maybe ;)
  • Deadline is a week from now, so just before post payout time

ze Prrrizezz~

  • 5SBD to the winner
  • 1SBD to the 3 runner ups (2nd, 3rd and 4th place)

Go forth and have fun!

SeparationBar.png


Want to join us and hang out with a bunch of excellent people on Steem Artists?

Follow @steemartists and check out our Discord Channel.

SeparationBar.png



Latest posts
My Toilet Doesn't like it's job - a silly poem

In-Active but Note Worthy (aka: shit that's important to me)
iPad Pro + Procreate app review
Animation - what is it, really? And why you should care
Character Design - A look behind the scenes
Mocafurbs - an animated short by yours truly and it's making of

Original Art Showcase
Procreate Doodles #2 - Tough Cookie
Design A Character week 6 - Shape Challenge
Design A Character week 5 - Style Challenge - meet Lupina
Procreate Doodles #1 - Belle and an interesting tidbit of history
Design A Character special edition - Steemkitten
Zerooc's Imaginary Creatures sketch off - year of the Doggo
Collection of some of my previous digital art ("before the iPadPro")
Techslut riding a purple Dragon
Accompanying time-lapse video
Traditional Art - Hand Drawn Christmas Cards

Blog/Vlog type stuff (aka: This is me)
Vienna waits for you - a letter to my home town
So I bought a ukulele...
Helloooo Steemit! Animator in the house. (Introduction Post)

Sort:  

Hello everyone, here is my entry for @jillustrations's Drawitagain challenge:

https://steemit.com/drawitagain/@chillingotter/my-entry-for-draw-it-again-challenge-1-by-jillustrations

Wingspan.jpg

And have a good day.

ooooohhhhh soooo noiiiice! awesome sauce.

I know!! I was gonna post it earlier but then I really wanted to add the digital version. And I got sick, a new roommate was moving in etc etc hahahaha

Exciting! I am so in. Since I've recently been archiving my sketchbooks I've got tons of candidates for this one. Terrific to see you hosting a contest.

dynamos spinning up

Let's do this! Good Luck and Have Fun you guys ^^

whoohooo! I'm super looking forward to see what'll come out of it. yaay~ this'll be fun!

epüüüüüüüc!

Aww nice idea!
And great redrawings! :D
Hope you keep this contest up and running, because I want to enter as soon as I find some spare time! ;)

whoop whoop! I will, but probably by-weekly. I'm too busy with real life to do this crazy shit every week lol

sweeeeet! I definitely like! <3

i did it about a week ago, hope its fine. I would love to make another work for this contest, but i found it so late! eh
thanks for the contest!
progress.jpg
https://steemit.com/art/@lonicera/original-drawing

That’s totally fine, this is quite an elaborate one too! Awesome!

oh, and you can always do one for the next one ;) I'll do another one in about a week (want to do something else in between he he) :D

thanks! and thanks for doing more of this, i really like the contest :D

Thanks for the push to do this one, it was fun and nostalgic. It brought me back 20 years!
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/draw-it-again-challenge-1
DDStevenStahlberg.jpg

siiiiiiiiick! aw man, thanks for participating!
yeah haha it's always fun taking a trip down memory lane. At least I love it. but then, I'm a sentimentally inclined soul lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68