You'll be riding Hippogriffs in no time

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Helloooo~~ fellow Steemians!

Another day, another drawing! :D whohoo!

So, someone at my workplace asked us to draw a "get well" card for their sisters kid who was currently very sick in the ICU :( Poor baby! ~

We were told the little princess Leia likes Animals and Harry Potter a lot, so I opted to put her on a Hippogriff (because, come on. Who doesn't love Hippogriffs?).

Leia_Hippogriff 1.jpg

Went a tad overboard tho, I mean we were just meant to do a little drawing XD but then I had so much fun and it just kinda… happened that I did a more or less full illustration :P

I say "more or less" because I would have liked to have had more time to put more detail into the colouring, especially the plumage of the Hippogriff. Ran out of time though, so the colouring is pretty basic.

It's fun in any case though, and I really like how our feathered eagle-horse turned out actually, despite the fact that I actually wanted some more dynamic foreshortening but I kinda failed at the perspective, so it's sort of… flat. sigh.

Gotta practice more! ~

I thought I'd change it up a bit and upload a process gif instead of a time lapse for this one. :)

Because why not.

What you see here flashing before your retinas are: rough sketch - sketch - lineart - basic fill colour - shading - accents, BG and lettering (final).


Leia_Hippogriff_process.gif



Created fully with the Procreate app on my trusty iPad Pro. ~ ♡

Gif made in Photoshop CC 2015

If you have any questions, let me know!

Toodeloo,
Until the next time,

Happy forced show of affections and compulsory chocolate & flower purchase day. XD

MWAH! ~ ♡
Jill


SeparationBar.png


Want to join us and hang out with a bunch of excellent people on Steem Artists?

Follow @steemartists and check out our Discord Channel.

SeparationBar.png



Latest posts
Procreate Doodles #2 - Tough Cookie
Vienna waits for you - a letter to my home town

in-active but note worthy (aka: shit that's important to me)
iPad Pro + Procreate app review
Animation - what is it, really? And why you should care
Character Design - A look behind the scenes
Mocafurbs - an animated short by yours truly and it's making of

Original Art Showcase
Procreate Doodles #2 - Tough Cookie
Design A Character week 6 - Shape Challenge
Design A Character week 5 - Style Challenge - meet Lupina
Procreate Doodles #1 - Belle and an interesting tidbit of history
Design A Character special edition - Steemkitten
Zerooc's Imaginary Creatures sketch off - year of the Doggo
Collection of some of my previous digital art ("before the iPadPro")
Techslut riding a purple Dragon
Accompanying time-lapse video
Traditional Art - Hand Drawn Christmas Cards

Blog/Vlog type stuff (aka: This is me)
So I bought a ukulele...
Helloooo Steemit! Animator in the house. (Introduction Post)

Sort:  

This is lovely! You have great energy, and rhythm in your lines, also, super clean line work. I used to adore harry potter, and its polluted way too much of my artistic mind haha. Keep up the great work, cant wait to see more from you in the future!

aweee thank you! <3
well, procreate has this really neat thing were you can "streamline" your lines so they're much less wobbly.
yaay to technology! haha
and no such thing as "pollution by harry potter". Massive Potter head myself. I mean I read the first book when I was 11. Obvioulsy I was hooked for all eternity.

This is soooooooooooo lovely, jill <3 Her wild happiness and wind-swept hair can cheer anyone at all :D And the hippogriff is very cool! <3 GORGEOUS WORK~ i hope leia will feel better in no time at all <3

thank youuu <3 <3 <3 she loved all our cards ;D we got a thank you message saying she cried because she was so overwhealmed by all the lovely well wishes <3 so cute.
She's out of the ICU and recovering now <3 so maybe it worked?! yaaay~~<3

Your work is as spectacular as always and the best of all is that it overflows with feeling. 👌😀

aww thank you so much!!! <3 <3 <3

Cool Hippogriff and his little Rider!

Amazing cartoon , ..:)

Dear Artist @jillustrations ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

will check it out! cheers! :D

Beautiful! What a way to make her day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77