Advanced Pottery - Creating a Vase

in #art5 years ago

I requested another class during the add and drop period at the senior center. I was so surprised when I found out that I made it! Usually advanced pottery fills up very fast and is hard to get. This particular class is right after my ceramic mold preparation class in the same room, so I was very happy to see that I made the cut.

a508tyjxv1.jpg

The teacher started me off with a vase that she wants me to make with the hand build technique using coils. I looked at the picture and I thought to myself, "I don't think that I am this advanced." But I did not say that out loud. I pretended that the assignment was suitable for someone with my talents and skills. 🤣

She gave me some clay to work with, and I cut some off of the block and took it to the slab roller. I rolled out two slabs of clay and cut out some narrow strips so that I could start to hand roll them into coils.

7at7seqe4l.jpg

She came over to my table after I got started and asked me to make the coils larger and she showed me an approximate size.

I went back to work, making coils and placing them on top of each other with some slip until they starting forming a bowl. After I had about four coils in place, she told me to use a kidney tool and start to smooth out the coils into a solid piece.

nzltbsfdb1.jpg

I would have taken more pictures, but my hands were covered in wet clay and it was getting all over my cell phone.

I worked on that for awhile until it was lunch time. I ran and got a salad to go because I left my Spanish workbook at home and I still have my intermediate Spanish class this afternoon.

I am thoroughly enjoying my courses this quarter. I found out that there is a lady in the pottery class who also crochets. I saw some of her work and I was astonished. She crochets pictures of people and movie stars, etc. The pictures look so realistic that I thought they were screen prints or something. It almost looked like embroidery! She told me that she purchased the patterns from some guy who generated the images and patterns using a computer program. I plan to look into that because the quality was amazing.

Anyway, I've got to eat, grab my book and some supplies so that I can get to my Spanish class. Hasta Manana!

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting lessons, you quickly learn. Thank you for sharing @jluvs2fly

You're welcome.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Oooh, I can't wait to see how this turns out!! Very cool!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11