A Matter of Perspective w/ Process (Traditional, Ink and Markers)

in #art6 years ago

"A Matter of Perspective"

9"x 12"

Tools:

Deleter Neopiko-Line-3
Deleter Black 4
Deleter White 2
Assorted Alcohol Based Markers (Copic, Art-n-fly, etc)


Final.jpg


INSPIRATION:

This piece is my entry for this weeks Art Explosion, With the theme being "surreal". Which is my favorite subject matter so this one didn't need much force to be made into reality, Space Wizards? Yes please.


PROCESS:

Starting with a pencil draft on this one. I've always had trouble with drapery and clothing, I tend to make weird fleshy looking things instead.

20180322_192512_HDR (1).jpg

20180323_005409_HDR.jpg

Trying to make sure I don't get trapped fussing with the drafting phase I move to fine liner fairly quickly, doing so forces me to make concrete choices in the direction I want to go with the work.

20180323_012421_HDR.jpg

20180323_020037_HDR.jpg

20180323_030004_HDR.jpg

After all the line work is done with I switch to a brush and Deleter Black 4 to fill in the background, Then using a dip pen and Deleter White 2 to dot the Stars over top.

20180323_201203_HDR.jpg

20180323_210043_HDR.jpg

Moving into color. I start by filling in all the light colors first, then coming back over with darker colors. Afterwards using a colorless blender on specific areas.

20180324_022121_HDR.jpg

20180324_185757_HDR.jpg

A short amount of blending later and i'll call it finished.

Final.jpg


I'm Also on Sola and Instagram

Interested in buying some of my work?

Check out my web store!


footer.png

Sort:  

My fellow artist @johnfist, I've added you to my weekly round-up artist support initiative future! Keep up the good work and wish you all the best in your art future! MeGy :) #supportartist

Thanks so much! The support is appreciated!

I love this, keep it up! Ill be following

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoyed it. There's definitely more where that came from!

loved seeing the process. great job!

Thanks! I know I love process photos, I'm glad i'm not the only one. haha

:) This is so cool! I like your style buddy.

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoy it.

Another beauty! I like this one, the character reminds of Death, for sure because of his hood. So you say, a little blending and you'll call it done. Is that last picture not been blended?

And I cannot figure out how to blend still! Haven't tried very hard and I think the thickness of the paper matters maybe?

The second last picture is unblended. (There really wasn't much to blend on this one so it's not an easily noticeable change.)

I use the colorless blender to rub the area where two colors touch eachother (In the second last picture, you can see the unblended color sections in the sun as an example.), you can make a decent gradient this way but it desaturates the area. So you can take the lighter of the colors an re-fill the area that you blended and desaturated.

That's it, I was having this desaturation thing happening. I'll try again...I'm kind of all over the place with all the different things I want to do!

Thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JohnFist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61