Existential Nightmare w/ Process (Traditional, Ink and Markers)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

"Existential Nightmare"

9"x 12"

Tools:

Deleter Neopiko-Line-3
Deleter Black 4
Deleter White 2
Assorted Alcohol Based Markers (Copic, Art-n-fly, etc)

final.jpg


INSPIRATION:

With this piece I was trying to convey the feeling of extreme anxiousness and being mentally overwhelmed, which I'm sure most people have felt this way or will feel this way at some point. The Subject matter specifically being the experience of what we call an "Existential Crisis" which for me came from the realization that there is no plan or blueprint that guides the universe let alone you and your existence, that the only reason social customs exist the way they do is complete happenstance and changes depending on those random variables, and your life and programming reflects those social customs as does your view of what is considered "Good" and "Evil". Many find an extensive amount of freedom in the ability to realize "Nothing Matters" In the most literal sense, where others feel imprisoned in a life they didn't get to choose to be in.


PROCESS:

Started this piece in pencil, too much extra details to trust myself in only ink. I try my best to mark lightly so that it can be erased easily later.

20180311_013517_HDR.jpg

20180312_003113_HDR.jpg

After I'm finished with the pencil draft I begin the inking process, starting with the skeleton I use a fine liner to solidify the lines.

20180312_021324_HDR.jpg

20180312_034538_HDR.jpg

After the line work is finished I switch to Deleter Black 4 and a brush to fill in the background, then going over the background with Deleter White 2 and a Dip Pen for the stars.

20180313_201049_HDR.jpg

20180314_004438_HDR.jpg

Then on to color. I didn't get too many pictures of the coloring process because there wasn't a lot of coloring to do this time around, I was finished before I realized I had only taken one picture in between.

20180315_014905_HDR.jpg

final.jpg


Other social media you can find me.

Sola - Instagram


footer.png

Sort:  

I'd much rather have that freedom that comes from knowing there is no blueprint. It's overwhelming sometimes but it's also exhilarating. Life is weird. Your art is cool. :)

Agreed, It's quite a freeing concept to have no real purpose, it gives you the power to choose a purpose for yourself. Though many people don't allow themselves to make that choice, out of fear or ignorance usually.

I can relate to this.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JohnFist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59