The misconception of artists lives

in #art6 years ago

This misconception is something that I have personally dealt with along with others in my position.

image

I've been a musician for over 10 years with an extensive background in the business that happens behind the scenes in an artists career. This has, luckily, given me the opportunity to have a lasting career within the arts. The jobs I get to do within music and video are amazing, and I couldn't ask for a more fun job. Even the worst of my job is better than the best of a lot of other peoples jobs.

The problem has been with the understanding that


1. My work is still WORK. Its not happy fun play time. It's still something that I would not do in my free time to the extent that I do for work. This means that I still have responsibilities even when working from home.

2. A lot of my friends and family think that just because I choose my schedule means that I do not work. INCORRECT. Not only is my job quite demanding but i have to at least put in 8-12 hour daily blocks up to 7 days a week. Just because I don't have a 9 to 5 schedule and that I choose my hours does not mean I can just take off whenever.

3. This job is in no way easy. There's a ton that goes into the work involved and its not something that could be taught overnight. A lot of my job publicly looks like a party. It looks like time is being wasted when in reality it's the sum of the work that was done.
It's like seeing a painting and not realizing the work that has went into it .

I hope this is something that you can understand if you are not an artist
..and I'm sure this is something you can relate to if you are an artist. Follow me for more @johnroomusic
Let me know in the comments what type of art you do.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by johnroomusic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 15.11% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74