Stop thinking so much! Inspiration and my baby!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


Sooo I have a newborn baby (Austin Levi) He is basically consuming my life right now… And thats totally fine. I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to keep up these daily posts and that maybe they will help others… but really, right now, I’m writing for myself. 




Something that I have learned over the years as a creative is that DOING is a better habit to form than thinking a lot about something. 


When you take the time to sit down and do something. (Writing, working out, doing something creative) you will find that you tend to get a lot more accomplished than if you waited until inspiration struck. Even if you feel a little uninspired, taking some kind of action can jump start that inspiration and creative flow, which can then propel you into a productive state of mind. Starting is one of the best habits you can foster in your creative life, sitting down and doing will take you a lot further than thinking a lot or any for of external inspiration could ever take you. 

There is an analogy about this that I like… Building anything of worth is like building a brick house… It takes time, energy and some hard work. Its a lot to think about getting from a cement slab to a brick house and can feel over whelming. But the trick is not to try to build it all at once, but instead focus on the task at hand, lay the first row of bricks and see how you feel… then the next, and the next. Don’t worry about the roof, or the plumbing or the drywall, just lay one brick at a time… 


When I’m feeling like I’m having a creative block I just tell myself… relax. Today you are just adding one or two bricks to the wall.


With this approach you can take the pressure off yourself and know that as you focus you are accomplishing much more, you are building a house, something of value and when you look back in a week you’ll be glad you added those 4 bricks on Monday, and 3 on Tuesday and 10 on Wednesday. You be able to see the progress which will inspire you tomorrow… 

So this is my approach, this is my post my brick to keep things flowing, this is my inspiration for myself tomorrow to keep working, keep posting, keep writing one brick at a time. 



Here's a great video from  Chase Jarvis where he talks about taking small steps to accomplish your goal. Which gives another perspective on the idea.
 

A thousand small steps | Daily Creative



My name is Jon, I’m 31 years old and I'm a filmmaker, entrepreneur and creative building a studio in the USA. 



PLEASE feel free to hit me up with your account so we can connect! 


Hit me up on Instagram HERE 

and check out my website www.jonathanrperkins.com


Thanks for reading and I’m excited to get to know all you beautiful people!!!!!


🤓🤙🎥📷 

Jon


Sort:  

Congratulations @jonathanperkins! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! He looks wise. And thank you for that reminder! I've also been trying to get better at starting. Just about picking up that pencil and making the first line then hours go by like nothing.

Thank you! He's a cutie for sure. It is hard to get started for sure but I totally agree once you make the first step time flies!

Nice to meet you, @jonathanperkins! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Congratulations @jonathanperkins! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70