First Digital Painting - Coastline City Lights

in #art6 years ago

Well here's a new one, especially for me

This is the first time I have tried to do a digital painting. I have always been put off by the amount of work it required with carefully choosing and configuring brushes, to even just the colour choices (Digital painting is by no means comparable to real canvas and paint!). 

ArtRage

This little piece of software is basically what pushed me to whip out Ye Olde Wacom Intuos. I have been longing to use it again since cleaning out my room a little and dreading the mess caused by Acrylic/Oil Paint and all the nuances that come along with it! Don't get me wrong though, it's still and probably will always be my preferred medium! 

ArtRage is amazing at what it does, imitating real paint, and being a simple piece of software that allows you to do what you need to without breaking the thought process in between (especially with fine tuning a Photoshop brush and choosing colours and blending modes and so on). ArtRage does have a few of the intricacies but it works well just out the box as a simple digital painting tool. 

Coastal City Lights


The Process

Time: +- 5 Hours

Weapon Of Choice: Wacom Intuos Medium Pen & Touch

Ammunition: ArtRage 5

I hope you guys enjoy it and would love to hear some criticism as well!!

 (I always appreciate a push in the right direction)


#artrage #digitalart #digitalpainting #wacom #art #vincentb #upvoteforupvote #craigrant #photoshop #newbie #paint #minnowsupport #painting

Sort:  

Very good work for a first attempt!!

@Joxus... Thank you! Your work is amazing! I hope I can someday reach your stage! I know you get that line a lot so take it as truth, YOUR WORK IS BRILLIANT! I love the way you use hard colored lines to highlight areas (brings amazing contrast and brightens the mood too) You have a very retro style of coloring. Amazing! Cant wait to see what you do next!

Thanks!! Means a lot, really :) And I often look at other artists and say what you just said about me haha.. I feel like it's very hard for me to be 100% satisfied with my own work. Constantly trying to improve, I have a very long way to go before I get to the skill level that I think I'll be fairly pleased with :P

haha I know the feeling, it's probably what pushes us harder and harder. I always tell myself "An art piece is never completed, but simply abandoned"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47