Art experiments /// Trying something a little different

in #art6 years ago

I've been letting loose a little bit this week while painting as a way of detressing, I try to go into these sessions with no preconceived notions and just let my stylus dance and flow. Using a more intuitive process with both lines and colours is kind of risky, because lets face it not everything turns out as a masterpiece!

I was quite pleased with this portrait though... it is of no one in particular, just a face pulled from the ether. The pastel pallette is a deviation from my normal colours and I'm glad I pushed it in that direction, I tend to go a bit harsh sometimes but this has a very easter feel. I think it balances the slight surrealness well.

Sobbing Gems

pastel.png

Created in paintstorm studio using my Huion graphics monitor :)

pinkbannergif.gif

Sort:  

I like the colour selection. good job!

Thanks me too its very soft :)

Intense techno tears! Wow.

Haha techno tears, people always come up with great titles i the comments!

Loving the color scheme... the pastels lend to the "sad" vibe i'm getting from the piece, really cool :)

Thanks, maybe I will try a few more in this style... if I can replicate it lol, sometimes I can't!

Thanks gentle prince :)

I love pastels so much... but I seldom use them. I don't know why... So, I congratulate you on trying them out and winning :-D I love the painting, it feels very harmonious, but not too sweet because of the stylized tears which irritate the observer. The blend of pupils and gem-shaped tears lends the portrait a very intense aspect.
Thank you for sharing <3

Thanks so much, I have been feeling a bit uninspired lately, going opposite to my usual techniques seems to help a lot!

I LOVE this! And I do think it so important to venture into different colour stories and thematic worlds. It keeps us sharp and aware as artists and well, it's just fun.

I love colour and often play with bright and bold, but some of my latest larger pieces has been taking me back into the moodier darker shadows of the 19th century and I have to say I'm loving the journey. Ant that is it too: Love the journey and it looks like you are just starting on a new path, looking foward to see the 'snapshots' from along your way :)

Yes the journey is the most important part, you have to have fun along the way otherwise I think the art will reflect if you are bored!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99