New self-portrait series: Sometimes I scare myself / Digital Collage part 1

in #art5 years ago

Iscaremyself1.png

Digital collage is one of my favourite forms of art, I have done quite a few of these in the past and there is something really fun about the process! Though digital collage can be done in many different ways I seem to have developed a preferred method that I'll walk you through.

Starting Images

Obviously if you are collaging you need images to start with. For me, can be previous artworks I created, photos I took or sometimes I even use royalty free stock images.

For this particular project I used a quick selfie I took on my phone as a base.

Distortion

Next step after choosing the image/images tends to be distortion. I was introduced to Mirror Lab app by @soundwavesphoton and I absolutely adore it. For a mobile application it is extremely powerful and can create some beautiful and interesting results.

I imported this selfie into mirror lab and played around making 5 or 6 iterations of the image:

photo_2018-11-08_14-34-40 (2).jpg

photo_2018-11-08_14-34-40.jpg

photo_2018-11-08_14-34-41 (2).jpg

photo_2018-11-08_14-34-41 (3).jpg

photo_2018-11-08_14-34-41.jpg

Layering and blend/erasing

Next I import these into digital editing software and layer them one on top of another. I play around with the size/orientation and opacity of each layer. Usually only working with two at a time before moving on to the next. I will also erase parts of images entirely allowing the background images to show through.

Working with the layers in this fashion allows me a lot of control and something about the chaotic final effect just works for me!

This is part 1 in the series, I did two more that I will be posting in the near future using the same images so you can see the radical difference of how many versions can be made when mixing them differently :)

Sometimes I scare myself...

Iscaremyself1.png

Sort:  

I like how I can still see the structure of the face in each design. This is some deep stuff. There's no way that is scaring me though...I guess 😄

:D I'll have to try harder to be scary then!

You do that, I'll be back to see.

I didn't know you had your lip pierced. Also I enjoy the shattered glass effect. Something about it speaks to me.

Actually I don't but about 20 years ago I had snakebites :D That is just some effect of the distortion!

Hi, @juliakponsford!

You just got a 0.75% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

The final artwork is so trippy and psychedelic, i love it:) I will check the Mirror Lab app also:)

It's a lot of fun I think you'll like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05