''Interfusing'' - my series of paintings for the diploma collection

in #art6 years ago

I remember that during the first year of studying Fashion Design I didn't like painting. All because of , in my opinion, boring classes entitled "today we paint a still life in shades of gray". On the next, we painted something similar - only the arrangement of objects and the colors we were supposed to use were changing. We all complained, we thought painting was something not entirely needed in our field of study (how wrong we were!).

Today I know that these were very important exercises that I appreciated later, while painting other paintings. They gave us a ''base'' so that we could create what we felt like with a better sensing. It taught us the mixing of colors, the appropriate grasp of perspective, a shape ....

Interestingly, after returning from the annual break from school (I went to Norway then - I will probably write about it one day), my attitude to the subject "painting" and similar tasks with still life has changed a lot. I think that being abroad and dealing with something completely different than artistic activities, I missed so much for the creation that the contact with paint and brush started to give me incredible pleasure. It did not matter what I was painting, it was important that I could do it again. And from the classes to classes, I derived more and more satisfaction from it.

At the end of the second year, we had to choose from which classes we would be making an annexe to our diploma collection, which you can see here. Even then, I felt that my projects would be related to painting a lot. I was fascinated by the colour on the fabric, the effects obtained by combining paint and textiles. Something that can not be obtained in any other way.
The painting the annexe seemed to me the most natural and close to me at that moment. I wanted to enter the world of spots, colors, abstraction even more - this time on the canvas.

The theme of the series of paintings is ''Interfusing''

Interfusing the world of inspiration and vision kept in the designer's head, with what they encounter during the real work on the models.

Przenikanie II - Kopia.JPG

Crazy ideas and dreams represented here by multicolored colour patches come into contact with the cut lines - rigid construction rules that determine what can be done on the fabric and what can not. It's up to them whether the project will look exactly how you wanted or whether you will have to make changes.

Przenikanie III.JPG

The world of design is a mix of artistry, innovative and fresh look at fashion, transferring inspiration from often quite distant fields, with what is more mundane - the selection of appropriate materials, tedious and accurate design of the cuts, counting and measuring.
Everything was was in your imagination now you see lying flat on the table, marked with the appropriate letters, numbers, lines. What is sketched with a light hand on the paper now must be matched to the real, physical silhouette of a man - with waist, hips, and bust.

Przenikanie I - Kopia.JPG

This is how the artistic world interfuses with the technical world, creating the whole project.
It is the same in life - to realize our secret desires we often need concrete actions tailored to certain rules of this world. After all, each of us is a designer - of it's own life and world in which this life is done :)

Przenikanie IV - Kopia.JPG

The paintings were made on large canvases measuring one meter per meter. I painted them with acrylic paints and I added some lines and letters with markers, thanks to which I gained a stronger contrast. It was a multi-stage work, I painted layer by layer, painting one of the lines, strengthening others.
Often when I thought that I was approaching the end it turned out that it was just the beginning. However, it was worth being patient and spending more time on this project. Thanks to it I learned a lot about myself - for example, the fact that painting attracts me more than the design of fashion ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84