Painting in my ceramics

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Recently, when reorganizing my workspace, I found something that I painted a few months ago.

DSC05363 - Kopia - Kopia.JPG

I looked at it and admitted to myself - I missed such colors.
These two pictures - someone could say - nothing special, they do not represent anything. And that's what it's all about.
What counts is how they affect a person, it's mood. In my case, they bring peace and harmonious joy. That's what I feel when I look at it. And I hope that others can feel it too.

Holding them in my hands, I smiled to myself and looked at my wooden table where the next cups were drying. I decided to take the colour inspiration from to paper to clay.
I took colorful engobes and brushes and started painting two cups of brown clay.

DSC05358.JPG

Engobes dry up over time - you have to add water to them and mix thoroughly, especially the sediment that forms at the bottom. Wooden sticks - such as in the picture below are very helpful.

32480659_1950914501647585_7423894754032615424_n - Kopia.jpg

In addition to decorating with a colored clay, I also made somewhat ethnic pattern using the sgraffito method. It involves scraping the top layer (in this case engobe), revealing the layer colour underneath. Depending on the number of layers and how much we use the tool (I used a long wooden toothpick) - we can get very interesting and multi-colored effects. This time I wanted to get to the brown clay - thanks to this I gained a strong color contrast.

DSC05372 - Kopia.JPG

DSC05369 - Kopia.JPG

Now the cups are waiting for their first firing, later they will be glazed and fired second time. Only then will you be able to see the true color of the painting. Engobe color after firing and covering with transparent glaze becomes stronger and more expressive. Sometimes it looks completely different than what it initially looked like.

Look here:

These are painted cups before firing:

DSC03889.JPG

This is the final effect - after glazing.

DSC05355.JPG

They are a little different, right?

If you want to be up to date with what I do, I invite you to my instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/julia_lu_studio (the link is also at the top of my profile)

I do not always have time to write here, although I work on it to do it more often.

I greet you warmly,
see you later!

Sort:  

Wow this is awesome! The change in appearance is drastic!

How do you fire them?

Thank's :) I fire them in the electric kiln- special for ceramics but you can also find some woodfire kiln. The temperature goes up to 970 celsius degrees in the first firing, and maximum temperature of second firing is about 1250.( those were fired in 1140)

Cool! Do you have your own kiln?

Yes! I was very lucky because my dad bought me one. It is pretty old and needs some things to be done there in the future but anyway- it was my big dream which came true :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73