🎨Watercolor Portrait / entry for @sethlinson Portrait contest

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Wasn't sure if I would make this one on time, but it's Friday and weekend begins finally and this may be a great way to start it.
So here is second portrait from serial of them I started, and as it looks several are coming in row.

IMG_1461.jpg



Since this one was made pretty quick I didn't manage to make photo of pencil sketch, but it can be seen under color on first photo of process.



IMG_1456.jpg



It's was again similar process as one described here. Paper also is the same HahneMuhle Bamboo 300gr smooth surface.
And here is detail of messy atmosphere from my working table.



IMG_1459.jpg



As you can see I use a lot different colors, in pans, tubes and also mix them in small bowls to have larger amounts of already fixed color.
For this kind of painting is essential to have already prepared color since you need a lot of it during painting.



IMG_1455.jpg



This is lower part of painting with close up. Here colors ware left to connect one with another during drying process.



IMG_1462.jpg



More essential things while working and waiting for colors to dry, my good-bad staff :)



IMG_1466.jpg



And after painting, having coffee and cigarette breaks, waiting for color to become dry comes finished piece



IMG_1460.jpg



Hope you enjoyed another watercolor work mixed with vice spices in between...
and remember what they say, smoking is bad for your health

Sort:  

Lovely and sensitive Artwork -
Great use of the Watercolors :-)
resteemed

Thank you @yoogyart for your constant support :)

I really like this one! You did a good job keeping the drawing intact :)

Thank you @jameszenartist, comment like this coming from artist as good as you, means a lot to me.

You're very welcome :) You should check out Ali Cavanaugh's work. This kind of reminded me of some of it.

Hahaha, she is my favorite watercolor artist, I spend hours watching her work. This comparing I will consider as great compliment @jameszenartist. Love the way she uses color and water, I am trying to do something similar in my own way and sense.

Oh, well that's not surprising ;) You're welcome! Yeah, attributes from other's work that we admire has a tendency to creep into our own.

Wonderful artwork!!!!

AMAZING portrait! You really talented artist!
I'll follow you. Please come to my blog occasionally;)

I feel so out of the loop, I have been off Steemit for two days (broke my toe and busy) and feel I need to play catch up!

I love your magical hair ladies! that's what I'm calling them :) It really plays with the fluidity of watercolour and I love that.

Read your post about your accident...maybe something is telling you to slow down a bit :)
Now you will have to make some rest, even you don't want.
And not catching Steemit is also good, I use weekends to be off line ..it;s not good to spend so much time here. If we do, when we will make art :))

muy buen trabajo amigo, yo tambien me dedico al dibujo

Beautiful as always. The tones that you use for skin are my favorite. Seeing your work station makes me want to dig up my paints but before I can do that I need to reorganize the room and maybe purchase a new desk.

Slowly, you are doing now great thing with your prints @vermillionfox. One thing at the time, there will be time for everything :) And who knows what will come up if you start watercolors and than edit and work on them in your app.

@jungwatercolor very nice watercolor drawing my friend. I would like to use HahneMuhle Bamboo 300gr smooth surface paper but I am not sure if I can get it here. I am sure the working table is messy with everyone :-) However, the final output is really amazing! Loved the process.

Thank you @satishart :) I think any other good brand with smoother surface with 300gr heaviness will serve you good for trying out this kind of watercolor use.

Очень изящно!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58