Bill Murray Caricature FAIL - Then SUCCESS!!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

bm-avat.jpg

I have always wanted to do a caricature of Bill Murray. He has a glint in his eye that is particularly hard to capture. Here is a little bit about him.

William James Murray was born in September 1950. He first gained recognition in the TV hit show, "Saturday Night Live" for which he won an Emmy award.

Bill Murray's movies include: "Meatballs", "Caddyshack", "Stripes", "Tootsie", "Ghostbusters" ( 1 and 2) " What about Bob?", "Groundhog Day", and a more serious role in "Lost in Translation" which earned him a Golden Globe, BAFTA and an Academy nomination.

I found an image and proceeded to draw. The result was less than ideal. I simply could NOT get his likeness right nor the naughty look in his eye!
Untitled-3.png
It reminded me of an old farmer, fatigued and tired. All said and done, it wasn't working.
I put the image aside and carried on with my other work and waited until I felt more inspired.
I started again and this time, I felt that I had stumbled on a better likeness. The mouth worked and the overall shape was a lot better.

BM-1.jpg

Once I had the gesture right, I proceeded to add in more detail: This was WORKING!!

BM-2.jpg

Then, I chose a skin tone background and....

BM-3.jpg

.....experimented with subtle skin shades to give some realism to the image

BM-4.jpg

Then, finally, I added a green background, added some detail and placed the image into my Steemit post.

BM-5.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this attempt and please comment and suggest some other caricatures.....

Sort:  

Great work! I really enjoyed seeing the creation process. It turned out really nice. Thanks for sharing all of this!

You are most welcome @kidsysco. I am happy when the process is enjoyed

Awesome article
You're great

Awesome job! The first attempt certainly looks like Bill Murray, but it doesn't capture his attitude the way the second piece does.

Yes. I tried several to no avail....but suddenly hit the jackpot on the last one. Thanks for the comment @sethlinson

can make people smile

I hope so, @andrysteem...Then I am happy

Great Work , My Friend. I am sure Bill would be flattered!

Thank you @awgbibb. I would loved to spend more time refining it but one needs to get these out there!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70