You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: As An Artist How to Improve the Commission Process For You and Your Clients

in #art6 years ago

I always have some struggled between, "What I know is totally the best thing to do" and what the client wants. You have to walk that tigthrope. I try to just feed clients good news and positive updates and keep them on a need-to-know basis in the development of the pieces.

I'm commissioned to, "art" for you-- Not to be an extension of yourself through myself. I wish people got that.

Sort:  

Just tell me what you want on your hamburger and I promise I'll make it perfect! ;P

Thanks for reading. Your right, it can be a tight rope. You have to find a system that works for you. There have been several times since I started taking commissions that I knew the client wasn't going to be pleased with what they were asking me to do and it is often hard to explain to them that it won't work out under the conditions they are asking for.

That is why is say it is so very important that you manage the client's expectations for the project. You know yourself as an artist, and you know the mediums that you handle. Odds are they do not. Somewhere in there is a balance of clients input and your expertise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59