Mods, and that you should remember to leave your inner room once in a while.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

@shortcut just colourized one of my Phill from GCHQ pages, and it is one of the fun things about making creative commons art that people can, and feel free to do exactly that.

See the post here: Phill in a colour frenzy / Phill im Rausch der Farben [English/Deutsch]

That made me remember that I constantly needs to remember to do the same. It is nice when people read your works, and you should sometimes read other peoples works. It is fun when other people modify your art, so you should sometimes modify other peoples art.

In a post long ago @shortcut posted 4 paintings, and I remember that I said to myself: You should give it a try modifying one of them. I even knew which one... but then for some reason I didn't.

Here is my modification and below is the original.


Shortbread


@shortcut's original

The original was CC by-sa, which means I have to use the same license and I have also provided both @shortcut's and my own name for attribution. I suppose that is how you have to do it... If the artwork goes through seven people it would have a lot of names... would be like archaeological stratigraphy

You are all free to use both images for something, just remember that it has to have the same license - attribute the artist(s) (name & website is a proper way) - and link to the CC license on the CCpage.

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Attribute 1 - Shortcut- Site: https://steemit.com/@shortcut
Attribute 2 - Katharsisdrill - Site: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill

Sort:  

My contribution isn't worthy of a post, but I wanted to get in on the fun. This software doesn't have a perspective tool, otherwise I would have reflected yours on the canal water and dropped the opacity and darkened it. This compromise has a Gates of Hell quality to it ;-)

shortbread city.jpg
The city is for bodies, the country is for souls.


This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


Attribute 1 - Shortcut- Site: https://steemit.com/@shortcut



Attribute 2 - Katharsisdrill - Site: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill
Amsterdam backbround photo Pixabay.com, no atribution required

So cool, that you decided to jump in :-) I absolutely think it would be worth a post (and I could even upvote and resteem it with my @creative-commons account).
The Moulin Rouge neon fits as well as your title: "The city is for bodies, the country is for souls."
I just love, how this thing develops, it's a bit like the artwork is living.

The more the merrier. I think you have improved it, not really hellish though. I think it looks cosy :) Absolutely worth a post.

Wow! That's really cool :-) I like the big breads and how you used the thick lines like you were spraying on an old grafitti. I only can second, what you sayed about CC:

It is really satisfying when people use the Creative commons license to experiment with modifying the works.

It gives the work more power and meaning, when someone chooses to build on it. Thanks a lot!

It is also playing around, which is nice and takes some of the copyright, fetish & pseudoreligion out of art. No need for it to be there in the first place. Art is best worthless.

Art is best worthless.

Probably... Copyright is a bit like putting the bird in a cage.
#worthlessismore

Copyright is good for earning money, but ascribing too much value to art is bad, especially when making it. It becomes a stopper instead of a starter.

Interesting thought. I have to think about that.

I think I have to think a bit more about it too...

I've studied coloring pictures, but the results are very bad

I takes a lot of practice - getting through the period with bad results is always the problem.

I see two good drawings :)

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00