Greeting Cards by Tackycardia.net - My Artwork Pt20 - Watercolors

in #art6 years ago

This past December, when I joined Steemit, I began my account with posting my experiences as a freelance artist, then got lost along the way with posting random artwork, which is also nice stuff, however now going back to history...

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.27.24.png

Somewhere in 2014 I was back at home, back in the city where I grew up and went to school, having returned there after finishing university in Madrid, after my random 3 months internship as a Childrenswear market researcher in Munich, and after my fun 3 months summer job as a kids animator at an hotel by the beach in Mallorca. I was now sending off my artwork to all different Art agency representatives across the UK (mainly), and after many-many rejections, I get this one e-mail from a new greeting cards company in London called Tackycardia.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.28.50.png

The founder e-mailed me saying that they are currently taking about 8 artists on board to represent, and they would love it if I was one of them.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.30.50.png

Their moto was to create cards of Love, Hate and Madness, and they wanted to sell greeting cards that were designed by actual artists, making these cards tiny painting at the same time as cards of occasions, and they thought that I fit in with this theme.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.27.41.png

I was crazy excited, full of ideas and felt inspired. All cards were to have an illustration on both cover and inside - which made it all the more fun for me, leaving space for humorous comic-like designs and vignettes. I could finally put my thoughts and ideas down on paper and share them with the world.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.30.37.png

Four of my illustrations got picked and were printed, I am sharing the 4 with you in this post.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.55.05.png

When in 2015 I went to London, I had the opportunity to collaborate with the company, attending art fairs with the team and other events where we were introducing the company and the designs, it was all pretty fun, and at the same time challenging as our cards were a new niche in the British greeting cards market.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.28.31.png

Although recently the Tackycardia crew has moved out of the UK, and is now working on a similar but different business, plenty of these Greeting Cards are still in stock and are all for sale. They can be easily purchased through me if someone would like one - the cost is 3 pounds per card plus the delivery cost, which will differ depending on the country. All cards are size A6 and were painted with traditional watercolor paints.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.31.01.png

It was a lovely experience, and although both Tackycardia and I have parted ways, both leaving the UK behind, I will always remember this experience with much love and positivity.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.27.08.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 22.36.58.png

xoxo

Sort:  

Cool story @katkatart. Your cards are cute. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64802.57
ETH 2975.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69